So I bought a new phone

It’s a smartphone, and it took me about half an hour to feel the first regret coming up. I managed to add a  startscreen and I can’t throw it away now. To add to the pleasure I can’t even find a proper manual. There is one in Polish, but honestly, my ‘mobile phone Polish’ isn’t that good. Yet. So now I’m sitting here, wondering if I’m too old or too old-fashioned, and if this phone and I will find a way to get along.

It’s no surprise that it took me such a long time to get a smartphone. I’m stubborn and I told myself and everyone else that I would not give in to this hype! And the sight of all those finger prints on the screen is terrible! (It is. IT IS. After 1 hour I can already say that it drives me nuts.) But the coming year I’m going abroad and somehow my parents and I belieeve that there will be a day when I get stuck in an airport, and then it’s nice if you can surf the Internet. Plus: this thing has a functioning alarm clock, which my now old phone didn’t have. Sometimes it worked, sometimes it didn’t. Since I can’t take my very good not phone alarm clock with me abroad, I needed a device that had an alarm clock.

Am I better off now? Hard to say. It took me many years to finally become friend with the Internet, and I have the feeling that this new phone will need some time as well. Unlike all the other people, this is just not my thing. I don’t know how they do it, but they seem to know what to do immediately. And I sit here and watch the black screen and try to see through its secrets.

I think I’ll just send carrier pigeons again.

 

Edit: Thank god there is the YouTube! Now that’s what I call a friend. I removed my home screen. Well, the one I accidentally added. Okay, at least that’s one thing I’ve overcome!

Next Post
Leave a comment

42 Comments

  1. Twindaddy

     /  July 17, 2014

    Once you get it figured out you’ll love it.

    Reply
    • Are you sure? Besides, I’m lazy, it will take ages to figure it out :D

      Reply
      • Twindaddy

         /  July 17, 2014

        Smart phones were MADE for lazy people.

      • Really? But you have to get to know this before you use it!

      • Twindaddy

         /  July 17, 2014

        True, but the advantage to that is you don’t have to move or exert any effort to do so. You can just lounge on your couch and play with it until you figure it out.

      • Hmmm yes. Maybe I should do that somewhere soon.

        I’ve already figured out how to send text messages and that will do for now ;)

      • Twindaddy

         /  July 17, 2014

        See? You’ll have this thing mastered in no time.

      • I find your belief in me very touching, haha ;) Well, it’s very likely that 60 minutes aren’t enough to master it. We’ll see again in about a month time, and everything will look brighter I suppose ;)

      • Twindaddy

         /  July 17, 2014

        Well, no. 60 minutes isn’t quite long enough. In a month? Totally. You’ll get it down.

  2. I resisted smartphones for years as well! I finally relented and got an iPhone 4S, which I still have 2+ years later.

    It’s handy having the Internet and stuff but I really don’t get the clamour about them.

    It’s nice to see that some kind Belgium soul uploaded a helpful tutorial to YouTube though.

    Reply
    • And you even bought an iPhone! I’m not doing iPhones, ever. They are so expensive! And probably very useful.. When you have everything Apple.

      It wasn’t a Belgian guy, I guess he was British, and in fact he was talking about another model of the same brand in which you couldn’t remove a home screen :D But what he did to show that that was impossible helped me out.
      Yeah.

      Reply
  3. It will be a few days until you get extremely addicted to it :)
    It’s really useful – and perhaps it will make you join Twitter or Instagram? :)

    Edita

    http://www.pret-a-reporter.co.uk/

    Reply
    • Hahaha, oh dear, another addiction! Nooo! And going on Twitter and/or Instagram means two more accounts to check every time I don’t know what to do.
      I guess it’s safer to not do it… For now at least ;)

      Reply
      • Actually I find it most convenient for finding my way to places I haven’t been before – super helpful somewhere like London!

  4. Welcome to the club!

    I have found that as my computer gets older and more unstable, I would rather do most things on my smartphone anyway. Or at least, that is how I justify it :-)

    Reply
    • Hahaha, it’s just an excuse and you know it! I like computers somewhat more because you know you don’t have to pay. With a phone I always feel like there’s a chance they’re taking money from me because I’m accidentally surfing the net.

      But hey, maybe it’s a good thing I’m being a kid of my time now ;)

      Reply
  5. There is this sort of “dependency” that comes with having access to the world in your pocket. Doesn’t mean you know everything, but it is a lot closer to find the information to get an answer. Add to that you can communicate, share pictures and media with anyone else who has a smartphone in some way or another… and you may wish they would “leave you alone”. So I do get the good and the bad of having a smartphone.

    Reply
    • I know what you mean. One of my biggest pet peeves is when people are always looking at their phone, because that one facebook message is more important than talking to you… But I don’t think I’ll be like that, hopefully! In fact, surfing the net when not having access to wifi is too expensive for me, hehe ;)

      But still, I don’t want to become like that!

      Reply
  6. I just got a smartphone in December. I’m ashamed to say I now have no idea how I lived without it.

    Reply
  7. You’re so funny. iPhones are awesome. And you don’t have to have everything Apple in order to take full advantage of it. I still have a Windows based laptop and it works for me just fine. I have the iPhone5 and I am quite happy with its camera. I love taking pictures!

    Hope you get to enjoy your phone soon. Google the manual. You can find all the manuals in all the languages and there are plenty of consumers-based forums to help you understand how it works

    Reply
    • We’ve had another struggle today, the Thing and I, but I think we’re slowly getting along :) IPhones are so expensive though… I try to save money to spend it the coming year, so yeah.

      My phone also has the ‘selfie camera’, you know, the front one :D But so far I have taken no pics yet… In the near future I will!

      Reply
  8. You’ll wonder how you ever managed before Lol I’d be lost without my phone on my train journeys :)

    Reply
  9. Welcome to the 21st century!
    (Try not to walk into things when your head is down staring at your phone.)

    Reply
  10. I’m pretty sure I love my phone more than 95% of the people that I know.

    Reply
  11. BEAUTYCALYPSE

     /  July 20, 2014

    You sorta demolish my view of you Milennial kids ;)

    Reminded me of my mum getting talked into buying a horrible, hot pink (!) Samsung (!!) “smartphone” in a shop in Moscow. She insisted on having a phone “with buttons” but the lady in the shop said “you’re a modern women, you deserve a modern phone, period”. Genius.
    So the damn thing was in Russian. And while the words were real, everything about it was moonspeak to mum and still utter rubbish to me… ;)

    Reply
    • Sorry ’bout that ;)

      Hahaha, a pink one, that adds to the drama of it! Nice merchandising from the lady… But well, you either know how to deal with the modern stuff or not, right?

      Reply
      • BEAUTYCALYPSE

         /  July 21, 2014

        I like modern stuff :)

      • Depends on whether it’s pink and how well you can work with it :D But I guess you’re really a modern woman… And I’m not, I’m always a little behind on new stuff…

      • BEAUTYCALYPSE

         /  July 21, 2014

        Yeah, the hot pinkness of that devilish thing was only equaled by the idiotic user guidance. (You see, new stuff can be great (iPhone, for example) or dumb (the pink thingy)) ;)

  12. I’m glad you didn’t get an iPhone. I hate iPhones. Which one did you get? My dad is pretty bad with technology and finally switched from his first-ever smartphone to a new one, and he’s still going strong. If he can call, text, check sports scores, and “ask Google” things, believe me, you can, too!

    Reply
    • This post will get an update soon on how “well” it has worked for me so far… We still need time.
      I got a Huawei phone. It’s an upcoming brand, and supposed to be very good for smartphones.
      iPhones are overly expensive in my eyes. And often used to show off…

      Reply
  1. The Thing and I | No Blog Intended
  2. A case of laziness | No Blog Intended

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 742 other followers

