The Underdog of Evolution Theories

In certain, infamous times, people didn’t believe the ones who said that the earth was round. The ones who dared to say things that didn’t fit what the Bible says, were even killed sometimes. But now we’re doing better, right?
Right…?
That’s not what Elaine Morgan thinks. She talked in TED about her strong conviction that science has forgotten of some things. Such as: the reasons for us talking and gorilla’s not talking while sharing ancestors, the reasons for not having a fur and gorilla’s having a fur while sharing ancestors etc. Tell me, dear reader, do you know the answers? Well, I didn’t, because science is not my thing. But this interested me. Everything Elaine Morgan said, sounded as if she was right- but, of course,  I’m not a scientist and I do not know enough about it to judge.
Maybe science has not forgotten of the questions I have mentioned. But has it already investigated it? Probably – and yet it has not supported the Aquatic Ape Theory. This theory says that our ancestors have gone trough a (semi-)aquatic period. This means that we have changed due to water, and not (so much) due to the savanna. Why would someone believe that? There are certain indications, such as being able to talk. That’s because we can controll our breathing. The only other animals that are able to controll their breathing, are the ones that live in water. Our body fat is another difference between us and apes such as gorilla’s(victims of the day ;)). We have subcutaneous fat, and apparently we also share that with water animals. Our bipedalism, diving reflex, descended larynx, hooded nose etc are other indications. What I also found quite intruiging, was this quote: the mechanism of sweating in humans is especially wasteful of water–a rare commodity in the hot savanna. Convinced? Too early. Needless to say, there are ‘holes’ in this theory. Why do human beings don’t have the typical aquatic ears? Why do we have legs? Such kinds of questions.
The theory is often rejected by scientists. But the earth turned out to be round too! So I suggest that scientist (as if they would listen to me!) investigate it, see if this theory could be right, why it couldn’t be right, how this theory and the ‘savanna’ one could blend. I mean, I’m not the one to solve this problem, but perhaps we have gone trough both phases. Why don’t I read this on the internet? Or do I just miss it? I don’t want to pretend as if I have read anything. But I want to open up eyes – don’t just reject, but research! The Aquatic Ape Theory could have some true points, why wouldn’t we listen to it?

Sites I used: for the quote, for the criticism, for a basic idea. But again: every one could say anything on the internet. Don’t just believe everything, use different sources. Select. The ones you understand the least are often the best when you search up science-things ;).

Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Awesome title! I have difficulty – to say the least – with titles, so I have great respect for bloggers of your cailbre!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

