Two four six eight

Maybe you don’t know it, but all the stuff in a shop should be counted sometimes, to see if the ciphers are right. Don’t make me explain it, the details are unknown by me, but stuff should be calculated every now and then. So yesterday, during the precious last day of my holiday, I went counting. I thought it would be a piece of cake. Eight people, one shop. Has to be easy! And quick!
Well, it didn’t take as long as expected. And it learned me that there are several ways of counting.
If you are lucky, you can count like this: 2,4,6,8,10. That’s only when you don’t have to continue till 200 or something. After a while, I sometimes got stuck in my head because I began to count like this: 2,6,4,4,4 – no, again: 2,4,6. Or: 2,4,6,8,10,20,30,40 – damn.
But believe me, the best way to count a mass of stuff, is to divide it into pieces of ten. It’s easy to count to ten, when you lose count, you can easily count again (2,4,6,8,10). Then, it is easy to just count your piles and multiply it by ten, plus the stuff that didn’t make it to ten.
How easy life can be!

Oh, and if you want a cd review about ’21’ by Adele, I can give you one. That was the (sometimes slightly) distracting background music. To my humble opinion, the cd is a bit boring. I expected more, but the songs all resembled each other. She also covered ‘Lovesong’, originally by The Cure, and well, as a The Cure fan I know the original version better and I also like it more. She made it so soft and slow.
But ‘Lungs’ by Florence + The Machine was quite good. Amusing.

The content of my brain after a while

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Math makes my head hurt!

    Reply
  2. I don’t have to do much counting these days. I have to count out the teabags each morning when I make myself a brew but it doesn’t take long as I only use one teabag at a time.

    If I had to count out coffee grains in the same way that would be really annoying and I would probably just have hot water instead.

    Reply
  3. I like your counting style. I usually count to 10 and then start over too! I think the counting process you are talking about is called “taking inventory” here in the states. Or at least thats what it sounds like.
    I agree with you about Adele. Some songs are good, but, yeah too slow. I like the song “Shake it out” by Florence and the Machine. Do you?

    Reply
    • I think taking inventory is indeed what I (lazy, Dutch speaking) meant.
      I don’t know that song by its name, but I will, right now, listen to it and tell you what I think about it.

      Reply
  4. Addie

     /  January 13, 2012

    Counting in 10’s is the only way to go when you are counting money or goods. Personally, I think whomever invented the calculator should be given sainthood.

    Reply
  5. Addie

     /  January 14, 2012

    So binary!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

