Another life

They will let me go to bed, won’t they? Of course they will. They can’t resist. And if I ask for it, beg for it, make them crazy with my whining, they will open that giant door and let me go. I’m just so tired and I want to sleep. In a dark room, on top of the sheets. I’ll make my own little nest, dig my own little hole and sleep for the rest of the day. That’s how it goes.
They open the door. Is it really for me? Yes, they are looking at me and waiting, making sounds I don’t understand. But I don’t care. I go up the stairs, hoping for that one door to be opened. Then – footsteps. I look to the right. She’s leaving her room. The bed is empty now. The bed is empty. Would it be a good one? That one’s better. Is there still someone there? No. They aren’t. I can hear the dishes.
I don’t want to go there. Here’s my bed. I just have to push a bit and… it opens. Darkness. That’s good. Where will I lie? Here. It’s good. Some little pushing and preparing before I lie down and clean myself up a bit. It’s needed. It calms me down.
Someone opens the door again. I won’t move. They won’t pick me up and dump me somewhere else, will they? No, she just talks and lets me be. Good. Don’t hug me. Go.
She goes away. Could I make a perfect circle only using myself? I won’t try to keep my eyes open. They’re closing. No resistance.

Sleep.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Reminds of the time I came back to a hostel late at night after the pub. Stumbling around in the dark like an idiot.

    Reply
    • Did you notice it is about a cat? But okay, if you want to identify, you can.

      Reply
      • I didn’t actually but some parts now make far more sense!

        With the “They won’t pick me up and dump me somewhere else, will they” bit it had me thinking it was being told from a child’s point of view in an orphanage.

  2. Clever writing – I love the descriptions, makes it feel more real. =-)

    Reply
  3. I love this! If you think in dialogue you should consider writing a screenplay. It takes a special talent or ear to create dialogue that sounds natural. I’m so twisted that my first instinct was that this was a person being held against their will! haha! I guess a cat could fall into that category?

    Reply
    • Against his will? Absolutely not! There is no human creature who is obeyed as much as our cat.
      I would love to make a movie of all the dialogues stumbling around in my head. Maybe I can ask people to work together with me via this blog so wa can make a movie. Want to join in?

      Reply
  4. I would LOVE to! I also love dialogue. Funny how involving myself in this ‘blogging business’ has brought up potential story lines… Lots of material I think?

    Oh, and my cat rules the roost, as well. Absolutely.

    Reply
    • Blogging brings up potential story lines, until you open the ‘new post’ page. Then every tiny bit of inspiration seems to disappear… ;).
      If we can persuade some more people, we can start working on a movie. I have a few names in mind with whom making a movie has to be great… I guess you know them :).

      Reply

Leave a Reply

