Call me a thief

They called me a thief.

In the distance (sea, salt, flat sky) I saw a ship passing by. The bigger the ship, the more people, the more men. My eyes look further than human eyes ever could do. The silent way of passing by. Itchy fingers and the grey sky. No waves to make you sink and drown. No wind to make you continue either. At my mercy. Have you ever seen water as still as here? Not a single ripple.

The atmosphere, it gets crazy life. I cannot explain how it feels, but if I could, I’d hunt you down. Patience is a lie. I do not know it, and years have passed without handing you over. My fingers itch. I can almost feel my wings moving, but I do not fly.

I wonder where you are now. Are you on the ship? I’ve been searching for you, I’ve brought all those ships down just to see your face, your eyes, to feel your fingers on my skin again, anything. Anything. And the ship comes closer. I stretch out my arms. Wind. Straight to me.

I’ll break your heart
To keep you far from where
All danger starts…

Before they realize, before they know, I attack. The fear in their eyes – their, not yours, not yours – if they are not you, I do not need them. I throw them away, rubbish, waste. Only worth a sting from my most deadly angle, from my vampire teeth. Go away. Where are you?

Where are you?

The men are dead and the ship has sunk and you weren’t there. I’ve spent years looking for you, but not a single boat contained your flesh and bones. Not even your scent or name. Nothing but a thought, the thought that on the next ship, you’ll be there and I’ll find you.

They call me a thief.
They call me a thief…

Leave a comment

18 Comments

  1. Wow, this is really good. And goes great with the song you picked!
    going to have to check out more warpaint.

    You might also like Girl In A Coma.

    Reply
  2. Not bad that. Is it supposed to be from the point of view of the ship or a bird?

    Reply
    • Of a siren, actually.
      As I’m working a lot on the ‘paper’ about sirens, I’m totally in it. It isn’t my best story, but I like to just write stuff, whether it’s very good or slightly bad. I see it as experiments, and you are my guinea pigs.
      Enjoy ;).

      Reply
      • Ah, I see.

        Don’t feel nervous or anything about writing – the only way you learn and improve is by doing it!

      • Oh, by the way, Michael, I started reading your third story (only now, I know… I’m busy…) and I’m already stunned. It’s very different from the other stories, yet I cannot wait for some more time so I can read till the end. Your approach is so amusing and realistic, and typically you although this story’s subject is quite different of the ones before.
        Can I already get your autograph?

      • *blush*

        Why most certainly my dear!

        Hope you enjoy the story.

  3. Great mythological visual composition! Love it.

    Reply
  4. Maybe it’s me but I liked this better when I read it after seeing you admitting what it was about. Sirens always freaked me out in mythology. They never even looked all that attractive. Three chicks hanging out on rocks in the middle of the ocean, gave me nightmares.

    Reply
    • You’re right, Homer didn’t say they were pretty… Only their singing was stunning.
      In the future, I’ll be some more clear about the point of view :).

      Reply
      • No need to be more clear. As long as it’s revealed I think that’s good. Gives you the chance to read it blindly then with all the worldly knowledge available.

      • Sometimes it’s very interesting to see what people think you wrote about, and you are a great example of that. So I think I will indeed just tell you afterwards.

  5. I like the idea of sirens. They’re a great metaphor of everything that pulls you off your path and distracts you, in this life. Very cool. I like this piece of writing.

    Reply
  6. Wicked good! I’d a feeling it was sirens–the sea, the ship–you went to a great place with this; concise, complete and captivating.

    Reply
  1. Music Crush : Warpaint | No Blog Intended

Leave a Reply

