Mozzarella and Tomatoes 1: Sleepless in Seats

I’m back and I really want to thank you all for your enthusiasm!! I’ve only been able to read your comments today, but it makes me smile that you are such nice people. I like you all!

So, I’m back and exhausted. Seriously, we had to wake up at 7 every day, sometimes 6.30, and 12 o’clock was mostly the hour of going to sleep, if it weren’t any later. Also, never even consider sleeping on a bus. Welcome to part 1 of ‘Mozzarella and Tomatoes’!
Today, I’ll tell you about our bus trips. Use Google Maps if you’d like to know how far away Italy is from Belgium, but believe me: when driving to Pisa, you spend a lot of time in your tiny bus seat. Bus seats are made for sitting, but not for sleeping. You can lay them back, but only if the ones sitting behind you agree. Otherwise you might crush their knees, which won’t improve the atmosphere. I’ve never traveled with a bus like this time, so it were my friends who told me how to organise sleeping: one should sleep on the ground, the other one should sleep on the seats.

Now that doesn’t sound to difficult. Nor comfortable actually. My friends and I are (close to) 1m80, so that was serious folding before we could actually lie down… And do not consider moving as soon as you lie down! There simply no chance to do that. Also, if you’re lying on the seats and you are unable to fold you knees enough, there is but one thing to do: stretch them out and use other seats to let them lie on. My feet have used other seats more than the floor or my own seat. But lengthy legs demand space, room, wideness, which wasn’t available at all. I wasn’t the only one. We should have taken a picture, because there were just blankets and bags and legs everywhere. We were like a puzzle of sleeping people. ‘Sleeping’. When I woke up at approximately 4 a.m. because of the most terrible earache I’ve ever had, I wasn’t the only one who wasn’t sleeping. It was like everywone was awake. But when lifting my head at 8 a.m., I saw everyone sleeping like they were just knock-out due to the previous sleepless hours.

You can also use other people to lean on, something I did as well (with their approvement). You have to help each other and respect each other’s place, for everyone’s sake. That also means that you can’t just leave the bus. When you want to go outside, you have to act like Tarzan and you have to use the handrails of the seats as stepping stones. Otherwise you’ll probably step on someone’s face, hidden beneath a blanket. Or you step on a bag and you’ll break the souvenirs. There is no other way than using your flexibility!

Another thing that was quite bothering, was the radio playing above our heads. The on/off button didn’t work, the horror, the horror… And we passed a lot of tunnels, which caused an annoying rush ever time… When we woke up in the middle of the night because the drivers changed, we heard the radio playing one very cheery melody. You don’t want cheery melodies when you are fed up. So the guy sitting in front of us said: “Put off that radio.” “Impossible”, said the guy behind us. “Ram” was the very professional advice then. When you are exhausted an in terrible need of sleep, that answer is too funny to handle.

And can you imagine a qeue of girls running through the rain because they have to go to the toilet so desperately? If yes, then you know why I laughed so ahrd at that point. You see, this trip has given me loads of subjects to talk about. It was amazing and I cannot wait to share it all with you!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Yay, you made it! We all missed you and everything.

    The sleeping arrangement sounds utterly bizarre. Are you sure you weren’t being sent to the gulag…?

    I have to be honest; the thought of dozens of girls running in the rain to the toilet is jolly amusing.

    Reply
    • Well, I’ve been afraid of being sent to the gulag too, until we arrived in Pisa and I discovered that it’s just the way those things go in buses. *sigh* But somehow, it makes the trip ressemble a survival, which made it a challenge!

      Reply
  2. Sounds like you had an awesome time! Sleeping arrangements can be the worst sometimes, but it always makes for a memorable experience!

    Reply
  3. Good to have you back! I did think about you and what you might have been doing. Of course your reality and my imagination are two different things. I pictured you shopping, on the beach (I’m not sure which one – haha!) and eating at fabulous Italian restaurants. I’m sure you have a lot of blog material – looking forward to it!

    The bus sounds hideous! : (

    Reply
    • I’m afraid that your imagination is quite different from what we really did… But you’ll find out what we really did, and that it was fun too! I haven’t seen any beach, for example, nor have I been shopping, and fabulous Italian restaurants were not included in the amount of money I had taken with me. But we had the greatest time anyway, and I’m happy that you look forward to hearing it all!

      Reply
  4. Welcome back!

    I didn’t know you could drive from Belgium to Italy. I thought Europe was made up of a bunch of small islands.

    I’m amazed you did a whole post just about the bus ride. Excited for more I am!

    Reply
    • Ah, the bus ride is such a thing that you don’t like to do, but that gives you the opportunity of telling funny stories :). As I just left the bus, I was still feeling it moving and that is why I was able to write a whole post about that.

      Please tell me that you know Europe better than you say or I’ll have to stop talking to you ;). The best way to get to know Europe is by visiting it, so don’t hesitate and come take a look!

      Reply
  5. Why are you blogging? Get some sleep!

    Reply
    • At the time I was blogging, I’d already had a nap :). So don’t worry! My sleep is more important to me than anything else ;).

      Reply

Leave a Reply

