Mozzarella and Tomatoes 3: Mozzarella and Tomatoes

Today, you’ll find out why I named this series of posts Mozzarella and Tomatoes. Very obvious because that was the main food in Italy… It was well organised: the lunch was up to ourselves, but in the evenings we always ate together with the group in a sort of restaurant specially for groups.
If you want a cheap and quick lunch, you always end up eating pizza somehow. Once we ate something different, namely pasta (gnocchi gratinated with gorgonzola – good). That’s the most specatular it got. As a vegetarian (fake vegetarian, to be honest) I always ate Margherita (tomato sauce, mozzarella). Hurray. But that’s just my own fault, I know. In the restaurants we always had three dishes: first pasta with tomato sauce, then meat with vegetables (one kind at a time, never a combination) and dessert afterwards. Luckily I’d had the option to order veggie dishes, but when you are in Italy and you say ‘I’m vegetarian’, they look at you like ‘WTF’ (but in Italian then, their English wasn’t too good) and then they bring you a dish with mozzarella and tomato, or the same vegetables as the ‘normal’ people and a globe of mozzarella.
Tasty.
So I ate mozzarella twice a day in the beginning! Later on, we got pizza with fries for lunch. Bizarre combination for us… But the fries were good. That evening, we got fries at the restaurant too. And veggie me got it combined with a slice of Emmental cheese… To continue the bizarre combinations, I guess. The next day, I got the same dish (fries, cheese) plus beans. Somehow, originality seems to be hard.

I don’t think that Italians understand vegetarians. But most people don’t really get it anyway. I was happy that I didn’t have to eat meat, but I asked my mother not to give me mozzarella or tomato when I got home. (She was kind enough to give me something else.)(Which I can’t remember now because I was so sleepy back then. Exhausted.)

But ice cream in Italy is definitley good! Our ‘leaders’ bought us ice cream twice. *Omnomnomnom* They even have kiwi ice cream, and white chocolate. For me, lemon and melon are THE Italian ice cream tastes, but I like to try different ones everytime, so I also tasted that white chocolate, passion fruit,… aaaand that’s it, I think. O, and pistachio of course. And mint and chocolate. Very good. Very good.

So when you leave for Italy, be prepared and don’t eat pasta, pizza, mozzarella or tomatoes three weeks before you go.
Just a hint.

 

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. I shall head straight for the ice cream vendor the moment I land in Italy.

    Reply
  2. So their food is a stereotype of themselves? I’m sure they have hot dogs somewhere over there.

    Reply
    • Might be… But I haven’t seen any place where they sell hot dogs actually. And if I would have seen one, I wouldn’t have bought a hot dog for the obvious reasons…

      Reply
      • You’ve never eaten a hot dog??? I think that gives the US a reason to invade you.

      • I do have eaten a hot dog once! I just wouldn’t do it anymore! No reason to invade us…! There are plenty of hotdog eaters here ;).

  3. Yummmm. I lose weight everywhere in Europe except Italy! Pizza, pasta, gelato (ice cream)…I’m drooling..

    Reply
  4. haha! I know their food is delicious. I grew up in New York and so you can imagine that Italian food is very popular. I’m like Lily, I lose weight every place in Europe but Italy is a different story! I’m amused by the french fries and pizza combinations – sounds like heaven to me : )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

