Mist (part 2)

It took us two weeks to see each other again. Two weeks of endless desire and attempts to convince myself that my fantasy made her better, that reality would be disappointing. I did my best to forget her, but I couldn’t. I couldn’t! I had fallen in love before, and every time it felt like I’d never felt it before.
This time though, it felt really different. It wasn’t really love (how could I have said that after only one encounter?), it was ‘intruigedness’. Of all things, it resembled obsession the most. I know that it sounds bad. I’m telling the truth though, and this is what it is. How should I have forgotten or denied? You cannot control the mind, nor did I have anything to say to mine. You can’t decide what you think, what you dream of.

But it took us two weeks to visit the same place again. I was standing there, more or less desperately seeking for her, when she pushed the door open and walked in, behind her friends. She passed by.
“Hi, guardian angel”.
I breathed deeply.
“Anytime.”

She walked on.

I won’t tell you everything that happened in between. After that very short but satisfying conversation, it took us more than a month to see each other again. More than a month! We said ‘hi’ or something else, but we were never able to talk longtime. Reality wasn’t disappointing. I could never guess how she would act, what she would say. Enigmatically. Very enigmatically.
As I said, this situation lasted for more than a month. But then, one night, she walked in, all alone, straight up to me. Her cheeks were blushing due to the cold. I was stunned.
“Will you still be my guardian angel?”
“Yes… Yes, of course.”
“I’d like a beer.”
I bought her a beer. She sat down next to me. I was stunned. Simply stunned and overwhelmed.
“What’s the matter?” I asked, all confusion.
“Sometimes, things seem to turn out the wrong way. I needed some distraction.”
“Oh… okay.”
“Thanks for the beer. I can pay you back, if you’d like to.”
“I’d be offended.”
“I’ll never offer again”, she smiled.
“Are you alone?”
“I brought all of my personalities.”
“Oh… That will be fun.”
“So tell me, what were your plans for the night before I was blown in by the wind?”
“Nothing really. Drinking beer.”
“Nothing more exciting? I was planning on some unicorn riding. But the weather’s way too bad. Unicorns are fragile.”
“Are they?”
“I’m talking nonsense. Forgive me.”
“No, you’re not.”
“Am I not?”
“I mean, yes, you are, but it’s okay.”
“I need more people like you.”
“Like me?”
“People who believe that unicorns exist.”
“You could make me believe anything”, I said laughing. She looked me straight in the eyes.
“Can I?”

Just to show you what she was like. She’d save herself out of any situation with nothing but words and her intelligence. Next to that, she seemed to be interested in certain things I said, such as that she could make me believe anything. I don’t know why. I never really got her. But that evening, she stayed longtime, and we talked, and I neglected my friends. But I saw them looking at me, and Lisa smiled at me like she wanted to say ‘I see what you’re doing there!’. They must have understood what was going on.
But she didn’t care.

It was that night that she said: “I don’t want to go home. I don’t want the night to end. I know it sounds terribly corny. Will you stay here for me?”
“Why don’t you want to go home?”
“If I do so, I’ll remain my old self. I want to be different when I go home.”
“What are you saying? What will make you different then?”
“I don’t want to go”, she sighed. “Can’t I go home with you?”
What can you say when your latest obsession invites herself to your house? Should I have refused? Maybe I should have done so.

But I didn’t.

I did try to change her mind, though. I convinced her that my place wasn’t anything special, that she had to go home anyway, that I’d bring her home instead of taking her with me. She was silent all the time, except when saying: “Please.” “I could be damn raper! A murderer! You should be afraid of me!” I said. “How many times have you begged someone to take him with you?”
“Not once”, she answered. “I haven’t asked anyone to do that. I only ask you.”
“But why?”
“Can I trust you?”
“You can, but you can’t be sure of that! I mean it, what I wasn’t reliable?”
“But you are. I know you are.”
“I mean it”, I said. “I don’t know why you ask me that. I really don’t know.”
She said nothing anymore. She just looked at me, and eventually smiled.
“Would a murderer  have tried to keep me away from his house, you think?”
I smiled too. “No. He would have praised all the gods for your naivity.”

I found out that her parents were gone for the weekend, so that there was no one waiting for her at home. That was the reason she could do anythign she wanted, such as seducing old men. I also found out that she was testing me. But I passed the test and took her with me.

I know, I know. What was I thinking?

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. That was top stuff! Very well written as well, I am genuinely impressed.

    Reply
  2. Excellent! I guess I was wrong. It could’ve turned out badly for her, though. She was too trusting.
    nice job. I look forward to your next piece.

    Reply
    • Hopefully I won’t disappoint you then! I still have to figure out what happens exactly, but now I’ve done two pieces, I can’t stop anymore.

      Reply
  3. I love this. Both parts actually. But can one really fall in love with his/hers guardian angel? Does everyone have one? Sometimes I have a feeling that I really do, don’t know how I managed to get out of some really sticky situations.

    And while at it: “He would have praised all the gods for your naivety.” <– I swear I had said something similar at some point in my life. This line made me feel a bit dejavu-ish.

    Very captivating writing style you have 🙂 xx

    Reply
    • It’s sometimes stunning how you can get out of situations, very true! I hope everyone has a guardian angel, and when he’s a good looking human being, it’s even better! 😉

      That’s quite freaky indeed! When re-reading that line, I was like ‘did I write that?’. Maybe we have some telepathic things going on! If you recognize anything else, then we should seriously think how that could be ;).

      Reply
  4. This gets better and better – even backwards!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

