The joy of blogging

Why do I spent so much time on the computer? Why do I feel the need to typ things, to delete them again and start all over? Why am I addicted to WordPress?

Because I’m addicted to blogging.

It started out all too innocent: ‘Hey, let’s start a blog!’ but it ended up as an addiction. Blogging was something I had been thinking about before. I like to share my world with other people, and internet is such a great means to spread the word. Next to that it’s pretty anonymous. I like that. (Though the ones who really want to, could probably find out who I am…) The joy of blogging is talking to people all over the world, reading great posts, writing great posts, getting funny comments, comment yourself, and so on.
The ultimate joy of blogging for me is writing stories. Talking about daily stuff in a witty way is so much easier in my mother language that I more or less believe that I’ll never be equally as funny in English. That’s the curse of internationalism. But by now, I have started thinking stories out in English. I’m brainwashed. And I love it.

It’s not only the writing that is extreme joy. Making internet friends is fun as well! I mean, most of you readers and followers are from UK, or US. How else should I have got to know you? There are so many great people, they should all be on WordPress. Though internet friends aren’t real friends. Are they? If you haven’t met someone in real life, is it allowed to call them friends? I don’t talk about NBI that often, but if I say something, I talk about ‘people I more or less know’. If your only friends are on the internet, then there’s something not very okay, I’m afraid… Though I don’t call you friends, I really love talking to you. It’s a different way of communication. We don’t know each other in real life and that’s why I say different things and behave slightly different. Because you being unknown to me, I dare to share my twisted stories. I never talk about my writings to my friends. They are somehow too close, and I’d be too ashamed to tell them.

So somehow I’m closer to people I don’t really know than to my friends.
Now that sounds absolutely weird. I just want to say that being anonymous makes it easier to speak your mind.

*happy sigh*

Internet, I once disliked you, and now you make my life more interesting.
Thanks.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. You and your stories make my Internet time enjoyable. I’m so glad you’re on here and that I can think of you as a creative friend. Keep writing!

    Reply
  2. I think we call each other ‘friends’ because of the lack of a better word. Which is kind of interesting thinking of how long all those social networks have been around by now. Would have thought that someone had come up with something fitting….

    Reply
    • Indeed! I’ve been thinking of a word that describes the situation, but I could not think of anything. ‘Interfriends’ was the best thing I could come up with… Which shows how hard it is to think of a good word! Any suggestions?

      Reply
  3. It’s weird isn’t it how you can enjoy the “company” of people you don’t really know?

    Try not to always be so anonymous with your Belgium mates. I’m sure a few of them would actually be impressed with your blog here. I get the slight embarrassment though. But think of it in a way where if you discovered one of them had a hidden talent. Would you not be impressed?

    By the way, how’s the other half of RFB been?

    Reply
    • She’s doing fine, just not on WordPress anymore… But don’t worry, I’ve seen her yesterday, and she’s still alive and kicking :).

      They know about the blog, and they know I write sometimes, but I’ll never send my stories to them or something like that… ‘Cause that would feel a bit weird… Though I do write letters and e-mails to them. But next to that I’m not anonymous with them at all :). They know me very, very well, they just don’t read every story I write!

      Reply
  4. ‘Cos writing stuff can be well wicked!

    It’s hard to explain the appeal really but there is definitely an element of vanity about it. It’s nice when your followers grow and people like your work.

    As Moose asks above, how is RFB these days?

    Reply
    • Exactly. You want the people to read your stuff, you want their number to grow… A sort of healthy kind of drugs.

      She’s doing great, we still see each other daily and well, she seems to be still her very own self!

      Reply
  5. It’s a weird feeling isn’t it? Knowing so much about people, but not ever having met them! Sometimes I get freaked out because I’m like, what if everyone is lying and I know nothing about them, but they know everything about me?! Hah But I think that writing a blog is such an honest thing to do. It would be difficult to make up a totally different persona. I think of you as a blog friend!

    Reply
    • Thanks :). Yes, sometimes I wonder about that too, but actually believe that people who blog are in fact quite honest. It’s harder to ly here, I think. And you can be sure that I’m really who I pretend to be!
      Blog friends are more fun than facebookfriends! We should all meet each other once. I wish I had the money to arrange that… Imagine how fun it would be to see each other in real life!!

      Reply
  6. Well I’m glad you’re online.

    Reply
  7. I have gotten to know a lot of people I like calling friend. I mean, I live in the Bible Belt of Texas, and I just don’t meld well with a lot of people here. But like you said, you can meet people from all over the world online. I know some of them could in reality be crazed stalker killers (I mean that Le Clown, I dunno :D) but I think most people are probably honest. It’s a trust issue, I know, but I’ve found my blogging has made me branch out more than I thought possible. I do have friends in “real life” too but this crew of friends is just different. They get me in ways many people here don’t. Just moving my blog to WP and taking it off “private” was a big step for me, but I’m so glad I did it. Glad you did too.

    Reply
    • Hahaha, we should definitely not trust that Le Clown!
      I think so too: it’s probably to hard to fake an entire life, so I guess everyone is more or less honest (which is good enough for me). When I started doing this, I thought I’d never put any pictures of myself here, nor would I say where I live, or tell my name. Actually, I shouldn’t do that. It’s not only you, the people I trust, who can read it… But okay.
      And you definitely get to know people who would be very good friends if only you lived in the same area! It’s like you say a different crew. Not better or worse, just different.

      Hurray for blogging!

      Reply
  1. Blogtastic. | To Happiness and Beyond

Leave a Reply

