The Age of Freedom

I’m eighteen. That’s young. And yet, by now I’m old enough to know certain things. Like: I’m quite a pussy. People mostly don’t bite (they claw). If I say I will never do something, I will eventually do it or at least have the intention to do it.

There are some other things I learnt as well. With the years passing by, I started to realize that I’m not a ‘cool’ person. When you’re fourteen, you just want to fit in, you want to be like the cool ones, you will dress and behave the way people you admire do. But now I know I’m not like the popular girls, I’ve never been like them, will never be like them, and actually, I don’t even want to be like them. We are different. That’s fine. That’s even better than fitting in! Observing the cool people of my school has led to the conclusion that being cool means: texting all the time, having nothing to tell really, having no special interest in things like history, being not very open-minded and so on. Okay, maybe that’s quite a ‘black’ image of the cool guys. I mean that coolness has more to do with superficial stuff. I want to be more.

I’m that girl who loves classical music and post punk and metal and rock. I’m that girl who loves ballet and dancing in disco’s, who doesn’t like meat but likes look-a-like leather, the one who enjoys reading Lolita as much as reading Glamour. I’m also that girl who dresses differently from anyone else in my former high school. I wasn’t scared of wearing a T-shirt with a cut-away back or fishnet stockings.

*picture removed*

Now that is what makes me different. I’m open minded towards people. If you’re covered in tattoos, I’ll be interested in what they stand for. If you have blue hair, I’ll like you because you are different. There’s nothing wrong with being average, but it starts being wrong when you are average because you don’t dare to wear what you like. One day, when I wore my fishnet stockings, a classmate said she liked it, but she wouldn’t dare to wear it herself. That is sad. You shouldn’t be scared that easily. I’m quite sure I was judged by many people for wearing those stockings, but why should I care? It’s not my problem if they don’t like it. I like it and that will do for me.

 

*picture also removed*

(Look at my hair!)

This is the age of freedom – whatever you wear, you’ll be forgiven, because you’re still young. Why not take the chance to just wear what you want?

By now, I’ve learned which kind of clothes fits me, which don’t, and so on. Getting to this point, I no longer need to feel uncomfortable about what I wear. I know what I like, I know what likes me, so I do not longer care about other people’s opinion. What the hell, I just wear what I want to wear. It’s my piece of freedom.

 

*and again!*

This earring is my newest love. I know there aren’t too many people who like it, but I definitely do. Earrings in general are tempting for me. This one in particular because it is so different from the others. I should thank my parents too in this story. They are open-minded too. My mother even helped me finding fishnet stockings. How many mothers would do that?

 

*this picture too has passed*

And those pants are equally as great! When taking this kind of pictures, you are likely to have ten fails for every good pic. I had no photographer around. The stones were bloody hot. The sun shone merciless. But I had a great time, and the result is some great pictures.
I tried to capture the freedom of my age. Enjoy these pics while I’ll be celebrating my freedom abroad for a few days!

 

*and finally, the last one, removed like all the others*

(Celebrate freedom: sit down and don’t do a fuck.)

*All these pictures are mine, all rights reserved, copyright, blahblahblah. They’ll be taken offline again. My greatest nightmare is that someone steals my pics or discovers my identity. So watch but don’t touch.*

*As you might see, I’ve removed all the pictures. Sorry.*

Leave a comment

25 Comments

  1. Christ you can jump high. In 5th grade I scored second lowest in the class in jumping distance. I envy knee and hip drive.

    The older you get the more you’ll realize even the “cool” kids hate doing the things that make them cool. Every person I talk to who is a drunk says they hate going out drinking and partying. Then why do it? It’s that simple. Do what you want to do. When someone frowns on it remind yourself how happy it makes you.

    Those are also very interesting earrings you have going on there. I would be afraid of them getting caught in a hook.

    Reply
    • Luckily, the upper part of it is not really attached to my ear, so if there’s a hook, that little ring will just slip of my ear. No worries!

      I know a few popular girls who always go to a nearby disco, but when I see them there, they have these bored faces…! Much like those drunk people you mentioned. I don’t get that. I do what I like. Sometimes.

      Oh, and now you say so, my highest score for high jump is 1m45 I believe. *takes a bow*

      Reply
  2. A gripping life

     /  August 4, 2012

    I love those pictures – they’re sort of dreamy. I think you captured the spirit of youth nicely. I would much rather have friends outside of the cool popular kids. There are so many interesting lives – like you said, the cool kids tend to conform, who wants to be so boring?

    Reply
    • Thanks! The ‘outsiders’ tend to be way more interesting indeed! And at least you can talk with them without them texting all the time… 🙂

      Reply
  3. Well, aren’t you the cultured little Belgian, eh?

    I’ve never seen an earring like that before actually, it’s very unique.

    Reply
  4. Again, how similar we are. Both uncool. :)) Except that you are tall and have very lovely hair! And you certainly jump higher than me!
    And look, sometimes you like things, but not for yourself. I like your earring, it is bold. I think it says something very important about you, but I wouldn’t wear it myself because it doesn’t say anything true about me, it is not my style. (Earlier this week I bought blue starfish earrings).
    And the ending, well, how you don’t want your identity revealed… I’m glad you’ve found “the blog thing” earlier than me… it helped me a lot, but a little bit late…

    Reply
    • I have that feeling quite often: things can be pretty but just not on you. Glad you like it though :). Those starfish earrings must be wonderful too, I love earrings of all kind!
      It took me 18 years to love my hair! Now I’ve found the perfect shampoo and things are getting better. I start to enjoy taking care of it. Who’d have thought so?
      Pity the help was too late… But overall blogging is such a great thing, however we tend to do it. I’ve enjoyed your blog posts very often and I’m glad we’ve found each other and all our similarities! Which is quite weird actually, how similar people can be though we live such different situations…!

      Reply
  5. I like that earring. It reminds me of the earrings worn by the Bajorans on Star Trek. I always thought they were cool.

    I always find myself gravitating towards people who are a little different. People with wacky-colored hair, lots of tattoos and/or piercings, or people who are somehow not “ordinary.” I want to know their stories too because you know they’re probably really interesting people. A lot of people probably stay away from them and that’s a shame, they’re missing out.

    Reply
    • We think alike then: I think they’re interesting too. Most tattoos have special meanings and stuff, and those people having tattoos and piercings are probably openminded, and we might just share some favourite bands ;).

      I’ve never seen Star Trek, but I searched it up, and now I feel very Bajoran :).

      Reply
  6. Beautiful pictures! It’s so nice to be young and not take it for granted. I like that you like your earring even though you said that other people don’t like it. Now is the time when you can truly be yourself and do what you like. Good for you!

    Reply
  7. I want your trousers. And your hair. And your ability to jump high. Celebrate your freedom, missus, it’s a wonderful thing to have.

    Reply
  8. You are a very wise 18-year old. Daring to live, daring to dream, daring to step out of your comfort zone is a great thing.

    It is so refreshing to see a young person’s point of view. You are beautiful. Enjoy your life as much as you can

    Reply
    • I will! Life’s really a bitch, but sometimes, the overwhelming feeling of ‘everything is so nice!’ beats it all. I get that feeling when I feel pretty and when I’m having a great time. Right now I’m having a great time, so I feel very well!

      Reply
  9. It’s weird. You describe yourself and I can totally relate, almost see myself even. I did wear fishnets and ripped tees every now and again back at school. It was bliss to be different. It was bliss to not give a damn about what everyone thought. It’s bliss now, too.

    At last I get to see images of you. Flying, jumping, dreaming.

    Reply
    • I consider it a compliment that we are so alike :). If I’ll have a (what I consider) great life like yours, I’d be truly happy. It doesn’t come as a surprise that you liked to be different. You are just way too cool to be average!

      Reply
  10. Great Post! Just wanted to let you know that you’ve been nominated for the Sunshine Blog Award! Congrats 🙂 http://hurdlestohappiness.wordpress.com/2012/08/09/sunshine-blog-award/

    Reply
  11. Funny, eerything you’ve dscribed as being “uncool” is how i remember myself and my friends in high school. Ad looking back, turns out we were the cool kids after all.

    Reply
    • The coolest people are the ones who have guts and personality, not the ones who only care about their smartphones, I believe. What is life when you don’t think about it, when you don’t care about what happens in the world and so on?

      You have to be one of the coolest guys around :). High five! 😉

      Reply
  12. Good for you. Individuality is a wonderful trait to have. I like the earring….I would’ve worn something similar way back when….actually, I think I did!

    Reply
    • Haha, that’s awesome! 🙂 I’m a total sucker for any kind of earrings, so if there’s something I cannot resist, it’s this kind of kick ass earrings…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

