Dance Day # 3: Every four years, sadness

The Games are over, we all sob and cry because of this loss. Suddenly there’s too much time to do other stuff. Something is not right – where’s the Aquatic Centre gone? Why can’t we see rhythmic gymnastics anymore? Where’s the hymns?
We all feel how it hurts, how clueless life has become. Fortunately, there are ways to get over your grief. Try to make a painting that shows your grief, talk with a psychologist, or dance around the house or street randomly. Nothing can cure wounds as much as random dancing. Trust me. Have you ever got the feeling you should dance to this or that song? Never resist that urge. Never ever just sit down while actually you want to move like a fool.

There’s one song that always makes me jump up and go insane. You might remember this group playing at the opening ceremony of our deplored Games. They didn’t play this song, and that’s just a shame.

Need an example to see what random dancing can be like? Here you go – Lykke Li dancing around a restaurant to fight off sadness. Her dress is amazing by the way. I don’t love this song in particular, but I like the video. It’s really artistic and beautiful.

Dance the pain away, people. You’ll see it works.

Want to see more Dance Days? It has its own category – check on the right!

Leave a comment

30 Comments

  1. I’ve been taking things one day at a time, and setting myself small milestones to get through it.

    Yesterday I did some hoovering, and today I might go down to the shops.

    Reply
    • Very well, Michael. You’re doing it very well. But I’d recommend random dancing twice a day (before breakfast and dinner) to make sure you’ll recover as quickly as possible. (No prescription needed.)

      Reply
      • Good plan.

        I just spoke to Nurse Ratched, and she said that if your suggestion doesn’t work, I should kill myself.

      • With that kind of hilarious comments, you will have killed me before the next Games are happening.
        And that, sir, would be most horrible. I beg for mercy.

  2. A gripping life

     /  August 15, 2012

    I love this post!!! I dance all the time in my house and you’re right, it’s probably the most therapeutic thing in the world. Nothing makes me feel better than dancing. I haven’t gotten up the nerve to dance in a restaurant or book store, though. Haha! My dad once danced in a pizza restaurant and it was very traumatic. LOL!

    Reply
    • That’s quite… legendary, what your father did :). Never mind the others, just dance wherever you are! Though your house might just be the best place after all… 🙂

      Reply
  3. Addie

     /  August 15, 2012

    I, too, dance in my house. I think it’s why my children dance in theirs. I also love to cardance–you only have to move your upper body!!

    PS Michael–you made me laugh with your comment!!

    Reply
  4. Winter Olympics are in two years.
    Normally I wouldn;t mention it, but it sounds like you’re taking this very very hard.
    Perhaps some Xanax? Or Tequila?

    I have been known to grab my girl and dance in diners when something good is on the jukebox.

    Reply
    • Tequila? I’m in!
      In reality I am able to deal with the whole loss. But reality is never as interesting as a blog ;).

      Now I reallreallyreally wish I knew you! I need more friends like you. In reality.

      Reply
  5. Totally agree about the random dancing, there should be more of it. Can’t agree about the Arctic Monkeys though – what does anyone see in them?

    Reply
  6. I went past the Olympic Park this morning on the train. I saw Seb Coe scarpering over a fence with a couple of stadium seats. This cheered me up!

    Reply
  7. Dancing is good for the soul! 🙂

    Reply
  8. I don’t get this Olympic love so much. It’s the only thing I’ve ever seen bring out emotion in Your Michael Cargill. I’m also weird and don’t really keep up with anything popular. American Bandstand still on?

    Reply
    • You smell.

      To be honest, I only really got interested in the Olympics towards the end of the 2008 one, in Beijing. We suddenly started racking up the medals, and I got caught up in it a bit.

      Roll on London 2012, and I was looking forward to it, but a bit sceptical about it all. In the run up to it, the press had been focussing on so many negative things, and I was expecting the opening ceremony to be a load of old arse.

      Thankfully, it was great, and for whatever reason I absolutely loved the entire two weeks.

      Just one of them weird things, really.

      Reply
    • One of the reasons I really like the Games, is because it’s the only international event with a positive atmosphere in which every country wants to participate.
      That’s rather unique.
      You just know the entire world is watching and I like that feeling.
      Furhter on I agree on Michael, though I can’t say we racked up the medals…

      Reply
  9. I love dancing around, creating choreographed moves, and turning up the volume to songs. At my wedding I barely talked to anyone because I was too busy dancing! I really love that Lykke Li video! I like her moves!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

