Meanwhile, in my Life

Blisters. Because we really had to walk and take a look in that disco, only to discover that we were right: there was no one.

Decisions. Did I think I had decided upon my studies? Ah ah ah. Good joke. Really.

Heat. 39°C, in Belgium. Rather unique. You won’t hear me complain about it, but I’m inside, and happy with that.

Skirts. Though I don’t often wear them, this climate doesn’t give me a choice. I’m even happy with the existence of skirts. Because sometimes, pants won’t do.

Never Let Me Go. Barely any time left for something else because this book is so good. Just like Catcher in the Rye, by the way. I was surprised by its style and fluency. Recommended.

Pink toenails. I’ve got a pair of shoes, black shoes, which immediately turn my toenails into black, unhealthy looking things. So I painted them pink. And then wore such little socks in my shoes anyway.

Eighteen is a much exciting age indeed.

Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. You 18-year old Belgians, you’re BONKERS.

    Reply
  2. Eighteen. Oh, you’ve your whole life there, shining in front of you! I’ve shoes older than you are!! I will enjoy watching you grow, continue to enjoy your writing and relish your posts.

    Be joyful in this time–and carry that joy forward with you.

    Reply
    • Haha, it’s a strange idea that shoes can be older than I am :).
      Hopefully I will keep blogging and hopefully I’ll carry that joy forward – I will do my best! x

      Reply
  3. I have the same problem with black flats. It sucks even more as they are my faves, so I keep on wearing them and they keep on getting my feet looking zombie-dirty. My solution was just like yours, kinda worked. And that is why, I believe, we are cyber twins. Not cyborg, cyber, just to confirm.

    Reply
    • I bought those shoes because they fit with everything, so they were meant to be worn often… Until I found out that they weren’t as great as they should have been. But I will have to wear them anyway, as they fit with everything…

      It’s great to have be part of cyber twins, especially if the other one has such a cool life :). Cyber twins ftw!

      Reply
  4. A gripping life

     /  August 20, 2012

    Oh, to be eighteen again… I would do it only if I could know what I know now. Too many life lessons to learn. You have a beautiful and exciting life, savor every minute of it!

    Reply
  5. Blisteers, decisions and skirts, oh my!
    Sounds like a French existentialist film.
    But much more interesting and relatable, if only because you’re in it.

    Just watch out for that shoe dye!

    Reply
    • Maybe it’s not a bad idea to make a movie out of it! Then I get rich and famous, and start drinking and blowing, and then I’ll make a movie on how I overcome my addictions and I’ll become even more famous and rich.

      All the while whining about those shoes too.
      The ultimate path to success.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

