eProblems & ICT awkwardness

When I was 12, I was scared of computers. We had computer classes, in which we had to use quite old stuff, and after a lot of very annoying and frustrating experiences, I decided never to touch a computer again, unless I had to. To give an example of the non-luck we had: one day, we were told to make a calendar. A friend and I started working on it (I remember that we used blue and green), saved it… and the next time it was gone. So we started all over. And the next time it was gone. So we started all over. And the next time it was gone. So we had to start all over during our spare time. That’s not fun.

I held onto this principle for a long time. In the second year of high school, I found out that we had to do exercices for French on a CD, so I had to use the terrible monster called ‘computer’. It wasn’t my happiest day. Besides that I had no idea how to type an ‘^’ and stuff. I tried to write all the things I had to write by hand, not to type them. It worked. In the third year, we had ICT lessons. HELL. I hated them. Everyone hated them. I’ve spent so many time inside, while everyone was relaxing outside after lunch at school, just finishing all the horrible exercices… It didn’t really improve my relationship with computers.

But then there was a light slightly growing, something like hope. I was going on an exchange program (for a week) and I wanted to talk to the girl I’d stay with before I’d arrive. So I created an e-mail account. I was fifteen. Then the mailing started, and Internet frightened me less. With the discovery of YouTube a while before this, hope had been growing and now things were getting a lot better. Finding a world of ballet and e-mails on the computer was awesome!

One year ago, I started a blog, and since then computers are necessary for my mental health and everything. But now, things have come to a climax: I’ve got my own laptop.

My own computer. Who’d have thought so?

But in fact, I’ve got it because of what is coming next year. I’m going to move away for the biggest part of the year, to another city because we’ve got no university here. I guess things are more or less the same with you. So, I need a computer.

But I’m still no expert at it, not at all! My father helped me to get everything right when starting it for the first time. That, of course, wasn’t all too easy. I mean, here, in Belgium, we use azerty, and this keyboard is azerty, but when I tried to type my name (including an ‘a’), I found out it was in qwerty. Hurrah! Totally not confusing at all! Luckily these two types aren’t that different, and I’ve got a bit of knowledge of it anyway (strange, isn’t it?). My father told me azerty was only used in Belgium and France, how weird is that?

So, okay, I’ve got this computer running, but now I’m forced to use Internet Eplorer and it is. So. Slow. I had to open your sites twice at the same time, otherwise it wouldn’t open at all. Facebook has been reloading for ages, Google isn’t anywhere near findable. I mean, Google? What the hell? I tried searching it in Bing, but then Bing said “Congrats! You can use your Bing sidebar!!” And I was like “Bing? Bitch please! I want Google!”

I still don’t see any Google. Loading, loading, loading. Arrrrrrr. Sometimes, I still dislike computers.

Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. Try using Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome as your web browser.
    Also, if you go here: http://www.google.com/intl/en/about/products/ you can install Google Toolbar for Internet Explorer or Firefox. (the link for Chrome is on the page too)

    Hopefully, that will give you a bit more speed, and you won’t have to use bing.

    Reply
    • Thanks, Guapo! I was planning on getting another browser, but I want to do it when my father or brother is around, so they can help me out when needed. Thanks for the link!

      Reply
  2. really? You managed to live without a computer till now? I find that very remarkable. I couldn’t do that. If I’m a way from my laptop for more than a couple of hours, I get anxiety! šŸ˜›

    Reply
    • Haha, soon I’ll be like that too :).
      You know, it’s only since April that I’m on Facebook, and I’m eighteen… Yes… I’ve resisted a long time, but in the end you will give in anyway!

      Reply
      • Like I said, very remarkable. I would have thought that the younger generation was 100% connected.

      • That’s true, I’m just not all the other young people :). The rest all have smartphones and iPhones and are acebooking all the time. I’m the exception.

  3. I still use Safari out of habit, but Mozilla really is better for most things. As a teenager I only used the computer as necessary… but once I went away to college it was all over. E-mail, internet surfing, shopping, you name it… I made my first web page at age 20, for a class. Now, no one even uses that particular code anymore!

    Reply
    • Time flies! Recently we’ve seen some movies in which discs played an important role. I mean, like, dics, not compact discs or usb. That seems so old fashioned now… Though it’s not even 10 years ago since people used them!

      Internet is useful for sure, if you know how to use it at least!

      Reply
  4. LOL – good luck!! I was gone from my computer this weekend and I felt SOOO disconnected. You will be a wiz in no time. šŸ™‚

    Reply
    • Haha, yes, it is addicting as soon as you start blogging or something like it… I need my daily portion of Internet, and if not, I’ll take some extra time for the day after so I can catch up.
      Somehow, that sounds pathetic :). But it’s true and I know it’s not only true for me… šŸ™‚

      Reply
  5. I’m always mildly fascinated by people who struggle with computers, as I’ve always been the nerdy bloke that everyone comes to, for help.

    Good luck with your new toy.

    Reply
  6. As Guapo said up top, try Google Chrome or Firefox.

    I was the last person I knew to get a computer. Somehow in 9th grade I was still the fastest typer in class. I don’t want to toot my own horn but I used to be able to get upwards of 100 words per minute. Then everything declined. I blame pushing myself too hard.

    First laptop is even more exciting. My mom got me one when I moved out. Thank goodness she did. It’s the one thing I own that I might die trying to protect. Too many important files on there. Now you know my weakness.

    Reply
    • Don’t worry, as a good friend, I’ll protect the weaknesses of my friends!
      I tried to install another browser, but my computer said it could harm my laptop, so I decided to wait until I have all necessary stuff for resetting my computer and stuff.

      Right now, I’m using another computer, and it feels SO SAFE. šŸ˜€

      Reply
  7. I know what you mean. Laptops are a whole new tricky world. Overtime you will learn the ins and outs of your laptop and you’ll have a good relationship with it. It took me a long time to figure everything out. Whenever I need help doing something, I always search google. Even if it’s about computer help! Google will do it! But yeah, try firefox instead of internet explorer. Should go much faster then!

    Reply
    • Google is your best friend! Maybe even better than diamonds…
      I’m quite sure that as soon as the PC and I have had a proper talk, we’ll get along just fine, and soon enough I’ll be one of those nerds who go to sleep with their PC… Like all WordPress people I guess šŸ˜‰ !

      Reply

Leave a Reply

