Obama for the win – literally

Before you start reading this post, I should tell you that I’m not really interested in politics. Don’t be fooled. I do like to know a little bit what’s going on though, and it was quite impossible not to know elections were coming in the US… Someone here left a paper in the kitchen, so when I was eating my soup a few hours ago, I decided to read the part where they had collected English (or rather, American) pieces on the elections.
It definitely made my soup a whole lot more interesting. And it caused me to have reasons, motives to dislike Romney! Huzzah! In theory, I always get mad at people who deem before they know what they’re talking about. In reality, I’m often one of those people. I do my best to not do it, but it’s so subtle and small and you don’t always notice it, right?

Anyway, I started reading something written by a man who was quite pissed at Romney without losing his professionalism. I mean, he was not so much pissed as well ‘feeling very strongly about it’. As I was reading, I started to feel very strongly about it too. There’s a certain about birth control and abortion that always gets the debate going, right? Everyone is either for or against, and people who don’t share your opinion are immediately a bunch of idiots or retards and so on.
Okay, no, that’s a bit too harsh. But I do feel like everyone who does not share my opinion, has missed something. Maybe I’m just very non-believing and western and spoilt, but I don’t see why birth control would be a bad thing. Because face it, if birth control wouldn’t exist, we would have a bunch of babies that we should take care of. There’s a limit to the amount of people you really can take care of. There’s always a lack of money. Add all those ‘unwanted’ babies and there will be no more money left to take care of everyone, whether planned or not. And face this too: if we wouldn’t have had birth control, we’d possibly not have been where we are now – in a comfortable world with food and clothes for everyone.

The same counts for abortion more or less. I do understand that it feels like murder. Yes, it’s a child, it has the right to live just like we all do. But if you’re so pro ‘the right to live’, then end your wars now, at this very moment. Don’t be hypocrite – people in Afghanistan have rights too. yes, they’re human. O, and if you still have death penalty, then what’s the point of forbidding abortion? Don’t get me wrong- I’m for death penalty, in certain cases that is. Not the unlimited way it has been done for too long. Don’t just kill random people, right? Kill the ones who don’t deserve any better. Those people exist. Maybe they wouldn’t have lived if birth control or abortion would have been easier.

No, okay, that’s too bluntly. But you get my point – man alive, be consequent for god’s sake. I read even vetoed the right to use emergency birth control after a rape. Rape is this thing that people don’t see to be able to handle. Whenever a politician says something about it, it will cause debates and discussions everywhere. A dangerous place to be… Imagine how you would feel when this happens to you.

Next to all of this, I agree on the Belgian Facebook page: ‘Obama should win because he’s a chill nigger’. (NOTE: nigger isn’t necessarily a curse word here, especially here it isn’t meant to insult. Let’s have this right.)  Last but not least, I also see no point in trying to prove that Obama wasn’t born in the USA and stuff…

That’s as far as the political things will get here.

Leave a comment

17 Comments

  1. Let me tell you, you have more common sense in you for all your short years than a lot of people will ever have even if they get to live a thousand years

    Reply
  2. I feel the same way about abortion. However, it’s an emotive subject that may possibly attract some complete loons to your blog.

    Romney was a bit of a spanner. He came over here just before the Olympics and said it was badly organised. He most definitely isn’t a chill nigger.

    Reply
  3. My husband and I sometimes debate abortion (although we are essentially committed to disagreeing). I think it is unwise and dangerous to grant rights and then try to wrench them away. Prohibition is the only example I can think of offhand, but it obviously didn’t work. Also, if it was still “allowed as long as it was due to rape” wouldn’t it follow that the rate of reported rape would increase by about 800 percent? Bottom line: People would still do it, just as they did before Roe v. Wade.

    And to anyone who says, “What? Are you saying murder is legal?” Yes. Murder in the right circumstances, including war, is legal, just as you say. It’s hard to truly take the stance of a pacifist because if you do, that might just mean you’re first to die.

    Reply
  4. Unfortunately, this election was very much about the lesser of two evils.
    I’m just glad the election ads are over! (And glad you enjoyed your soup, too.)

    Reply
    • The lesser of two evils… I guess it’s often like that. Too often, sadly! I don’t like choosing, and id I’d been American, it would have been a total disaster :).

      But I’m pretty sure you did the best thing you could do, whatever you did :).

      Reply
      • In my case, it was partly voting for Obama, partly voting against Romney.
        I don’t think badly of Romney at all, but I didn’t like his policies, nor the people he surrounded himself with to develop those policies.
        Obama on the other hand, while accomplishing some great things, seems like more of a conciliator than one who can oversee govt as strongly as it needs. (Kind of like an an over indulgent parent to a congress of spoiled 6 year olds).

    • I can understand that. What I’ve been hearing, and agree with, is that the Republican party really needs to do some soul searching. They’ve let themselves be led too far right and they need to move toward the center. I don’t care much for Romney, but he really wasn’t that unreasonable a governor. It was when he had to start pleasing the Tea Party, Religious Right, and other fringe groups that he lost his way.

      Likewise, Obama has tried hard to do the whole “reaching across the aisle” bit but it clearly didn’t work last term. He needs to just push for what the people who elected him want this time – it’s not like he has to worry about reelection anymore. He just has to worry about an obstinate Congress.

      Reply
  5. I agree with the “lesser” of two evils theory…
    Talking about abortion… Don’t know what to say except that the option HAS to be there for those who take a big decision to go through it…

    Reply
  6. Great post! Nice to see your head is squarely on your shoulders, my friend…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

