Confession

I’ve got quite some things to confess, especially since we had a rather remarkable Thursday night, but I will not be confessing all my sins and mistakes here. There is one thing though I want to tell – maybe someone around here feels the same way. Let’s share our dolour!

You know, today is the 1st of December and people start to freak out with delightful decoration. Christmas trees, small, coloured lights and so on suddenly appear everywhere, and magazines start talking about how to dress during the Christmas dinner or New Year’s Eve. I didn’t realize it until I felt a sudden distaste turned up when seeing this stuff. I was casually reading a magazine and I saw all these things about The Holidays, and I stopped reading. I put the magazine away. I realized I don’t like this period. In fact, I start to hate it.
I mean, everyone seems to make a big deal out of Christmas and New Year’s Eve, but I think they’re overrated. You should celebrate Christmas with your family, but in fact I don’t know my entire family well enough to spend hours and hours with them, waiting for food of some kind. And New Year’s Eve isn’t that special at all. Last year, we were on a bus at 12:00 pm, and that was the best New Year’s Eve I’ve had so far. It was unexpected, everyone was kind, we saw all the fireworks. That was enough. The parties that night aren’t any better or more special than at other times. Why would that night be better than others? I’ve had some great nights already, on the most random days.
It’s like obligatory fun, but mostly I feel a bit lost during these days. Sometimes I’d rather hide and wait until it’s over. Everyone makes such a big deal out of it, and I wonder why… Plus: I’m not catholic, and I know most people here aren’t, so they just take Christmas as an excuse for presents and too much food. (Though some people also might like to spend time with their family of course.) I don’t need any presents, I won’t buy presents either. That’s the best way to avoid Christmas songs as well…

Next to that, this period is filled with dropping temperatures and darkness and snow perhaps. The best circumstances to hide, right? Maybe I can spend those days in my bed, thinking away the world or something. A cup of hot tea every now and then, and I’ll be just fine. No need to dress up for a party that will probably suck, no hours spent waiting for the next dish though you’re not hungry anymore. It’s fine for me to celebrate Christmas with my parents and brother, and to be in some cafe with some friends with New Year’s Eve. Let’s not make a big deal out of it, okay? No Christmas songs, no Christmas trees everywhere. Not necessary. A burning grate-fire will do.

https://i1.wp.com/media.rd.com/rd/images/rdc/slideshows/christmas-cartoons-slideshow-2008/1207-DaveCarpenter2-ss.jpg

OMG, they’ll excommunicate us!

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

23 Comments

  1. Addie

     /  December 1, 2012

    You hit the right feeling when you said it feels obligatory. I, too, would rather a small group of people I love to share the holiday with, no NYE do, and in bed early on that night.

    Reply
  2. I think there’s some lurid details about Thursday night you aren’t telling us.

    I quite like Christmas. People are in a better mood, time off work, see friends. I know what you mean about obligatory fun though, and some of it is over the top.

    New Years Eve can piss right off.

    Reply
    • Yep, and I won’t be telling it now :).
      There is a sort of happy atmosphere, yes, but it’s more the ‘coming to Christmas’ period that brings this atmosphere. For me, Christmas means holiday, so I don’t get to see my friends that often,a dn maybe that is the reason I do not like it as much too.

      Reply
  3. I agree with Addie. It’s forced merriment. I’d rather spend time with people I really care about, and by people, I mean animals, than sit around and make conversation. haha! This is a great post and suits my mood right now, perfectly. I used to like Christmas… not so much anymore.

    Reply
    • Hmm, I understand :s. Animals are great compnay for sure! Sometimes I’d rather be surrounded by a bunch of uncaring cats than having to talk to people.
      Great quote by the way :D.
      But I hope you don’t feel too shitty! If so, come weep over at us when needed.

      Reply
  4. jalal michael sabbagh.http://gravatar.com/jmsabbagh86@gmail.com

     /  December 1, 2012

    Every day is a Christmas day.,as long you are happy and content with your life.It is what come out of the heart.,not out of the mouth.Wishing you delightful day.jalal

    Reply
  5. I’m with you on that one! Jen

    Reply
  6. Have you always been this way or is it more recent? If it’s recent it’s just part of getting older.

    Holidays seem like an inconvenience to me now. Wait, I have to go drive somewhere and spend a few hours at some place I never feel welcomed? Lovely. I see my family plenty. A real holiday would have a day not having to deal with them 🙂

    Reply
    • Haha, great family you must have ;).
      Yes, it’s all so absurd. Why would you ‘celebrate’ by forcing yourself to do something?I know plenty of better ways to celebrate.
      I don’t know if it’s really been bothering me since my birth or something, but I certainly never really liked this kind of things that much.

      Reply
  7. You are definitely not the only one feeling this way! I was just writing this morning about how bitter I am about Christmas. Rock on!

    Reply
  8. I’ve been a Christmas grinch for for the past 16 years because it’s always been stress. Though this year I am actually looking forward to it. Not travelling home, not having to deal with all the obligatory travels and visits. Just here with my other family quiet (or as quiet as things go down here). New Years – always been up and down. Some good, some not so good and some would have been better spend in bed.

    But I hear what you are saying. This feeling you are getting is a reason why I stopped reading magazines. That buy-focus was just getting on my nerves.
    I think it is still valid to celebrate Christmas and New Years in any way one likes. Whether it is with family or alone, dressed up, dressed down, at home or out, gifts or no gifts – just enjoy it. All we need to do is listening to the marketing machine that is trying to get to spend our hard earned money and is appealing to our vanity.

    Reply
    • Yes, you are right. I think we should stop putting presure on people – for both buying presents and having obligatory fun. Let’s just spend those days exactly the way we want, and not the way we’re supposed to!
      This all doesn’t stop me from wishing you a merry Christmas already ;). O, and a wonderful New Year.

      Reply
  9. See, I have always been so self-absorbed that I thought all of those were meant for MY b-day. It’s just easier this way.

    Reply
  10. Sounds like you should start your own traditions to enjoy the time in any way you see fit….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

