And all the flowers were mine

Sometimes… Sometimes it’s okay to look back with nostalgic eyes. Sometimes it might be good to remember. Melancholy. Every now and then. Just to remind yourself of the fact that there are moments you want to relive…

What is better than a touch of Poe then? I mean, add one letter and you’ve got poem. Says enough I believe. I like his poetry a lot, because it makes you feel the melancholy really well. The sentence ‘and all the flowers were mine’ has been eddying in my head for a few weeks and then I decided to search for the poem. It struck me again with its flow and sadness. To you in blogosphere…

To One In Paradise
– Edgar Allan Poe
Thou wast all that to me, love,
For which my soul did pine-
A green isle in the sea, love,
A fountain and a shrine,
All wreathed with fairy fruits and flowers,
And all the flowers were mine.
Ah, dream too bright to last!
Ah, starry Hope! that didst arise
But to be overcast!
A voice from out the Future cries,
“On! on!”- but o’er the Past
(Dim gulf!) my spirit hovering lies
Mute, motionless, aghast!For, alas! alas! me
The light of Life is o’er!
“No more- no more- no more-”
(Such language holds the solemn sea
To the sands upon the shore)
Shall bloom the thunder-blasted tree
Or the stricken eagle soar!

And all my days are trances,
And all my nightly dreams
Are where thy grey eye glances,
And where thy footstep gleams-
In what ethereal dances,
By what eternal streams.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

17 Comments

  1. Great poem, I love Poe.
    But don’t get too cought up in the melancholy…

    Reply
  2. His words are so pretty. I know this is cliche, but I love The Raven. I love the rhythm that he writes in. It flows so well. Beautiful.

    Reply
  3. A gripping life

     /  January 11, 2013

    I love Poe. There’s one that begins, “From childhoods hour I have not been…” it’s my favorite Poe. I think you’d like it, too.

    Reply
    • It rings a bell, I’m going to search for it in a minute! One day, I hope to find a book with his poems collected and then I’ll definitely buy it!

      Reply
  4. Sigh! I’d wish my brain would be more built for poetry. I read it, I kind of get it and then I feel I didn’t understand a word.

    Reply
    • Hmmm yes, I often feel like too with poetry… Like there’s a whole world behind the words I just didn’t get.
      But in my humble opinion Poe writes quite ‘clearly’ :). Hope you enjoyed it anyway!

      Reply
  5. Oh, the raven! Thanks for sharing; love his work – can’t read too much of it at a time though 🙂

    Reply
    • I know what you mean – it’s fun for a poem, but too much of it causes an overload :). Things like these are best appreciated one at a time!
      Thanks for visiting, bookybunhead!

      Reply
  6. Ah poetry. It is slowly becoming an archaic art. I wanted to be a poet growing up. But then my parents told me that it’s an equivalent of being a junkie on the street – aka no salary. That’s how that dream was broken. I still frequently read it though, I can’t help it – it’s good for the soul, isn’t it, A? 🙂

    Edita
    http://www.pret-a-reporter.co.uk

    Reply
  7. Wait what? I swear I commented on this post :S

    Reply
  8. Awesome. Will see if I can find any tonight 😉

    Reply
  1. Darkness – the bright side « No Blog Intended

Leave a Reply

