To darkness and to me

Nothing but footsteps in an empty street.

No one to see. Sleep, people, sleep.

Keep your world small – pillow, human, sheet.

I will stay awake. I’ll walk.

There’s hunger I’ve caused which I must feed.

I know I shouldn’t run away.

Take me there, take the lead.

Force me to stay, make me talk.

I can feel my heart and body beat.

And the people sleep, sleep unlike we.

But I don’t want to feel the need.

It’s a dead end road, walk away, decisively,

And leave the world to darkness and to me.

I kind of stole that last line. Apologies.

Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. I really like this, Astrid. Wonderful.

    Reply
  2. Addie

     /  January 18, 2013

    I echo Lisa’s “Wonderful”. Beautifully written!

    Reply
  3. Powerful!
    Made me think of a lot of nights I spent wandering Manhattan in the wee hours…

    Reply
  4. This jangles some very specific nerves ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  5. I by default like everything that’s connected to darkness. Don’t know why, don’t wanna find out either. So I automatically love this. Beautifully written, expressed and voiced. I still remember I owe you a poem. It’s just that now looking back they all are so crap, so I am taking my time picking the least embarrassing line. Yep.

    Reply
    • Because of you being a darkness-lover, this comment is even more flattering ;). Again I should not be surprised by your love for darkness!
      Thanks for your nice words, they always make me smile.

      Reply
  1. Darkness – the bright side « No Blog Intended
  2. Beware of Darkness « tracksinthedust
  3. For once and for all | No Blog Intended

Leave a Reply

