“Time moves in one direction, memory in another” – William Gibson

Probably one of the worst things you could do when thinking about your life, is listening to sad music. And yes, I just said ‘thinking about your life’, as if I’m not 18 years old and too young to actually look back on something. But I do that every now and then. Like now, trying to figure out what the hell is happening. It would have helped if my memory was complete…

Either way, this is a warning: DO NOT LISTEN to the piece of music below if you are thinking about your life, in serious doubt about something, or feeling generally sad and confused. It’s a beautiful piece though, from the movie Inception, which I’ve seen this weekend. Though it was hard to understand sometimes, it was a good movie. The music accompanied the very last scene, and left me all silent. When you find yourself and the end praying to all gods for that whirligig to fall, just fall… Then you know the movie got you.

And oooh, my fingers itch to tell you everything, from the very beginning to the very end, but this story hasn’t finished yet. I don’t know how much more there is to come, because months ago I already thought it had ended. But it never ended, it all started all over again, running over the same old ground, as ever… So many things happen here and yet I can’t tell you about it to protect other’s people privacy, and my own. When this story really has ended though, I will finally write about it, getting my mind together and laugh at the absurdity of it all. Just give me a few more months and this will make my friend and me laugh. But first some more thinking, some more doubts, some more melancholia. Just because it feels good with this music playing…

Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. Hope the reflections also include good bits that you smile at.
    My go-to-melancholy-reflection song is this one. Though part of that is because I waa listening to the album at that point in my life…

    Of course, to get out of the funk, Cheese Roll Call usually works…

    Reply
    • Yes, there’s enought to smile at as well! Lots and lots of things in fact. But sometimes you have to whine about what’s not to smile at… Like we all need that I guess… And I started using my blog for that :).
      Nice song, and nice way to cheer up again ;).

      Reply
  2. It doesn’t matter how old or young you are, there’s plenty of time for reflection on your life. It’s a healthy activity, so long as you don’t get consumed by it.

    And Inception is a top film, with a top soundtrack.

    Reply
    • It definitely is… I’m still thinking about it now…
      I don’t know if I ‘reflect’ too much or not. Let’s just say things will get better again. I’m in the middle of vagueness again and that’s the main cause of my current mood. I’m soon to be cheered up again :).

      Reply
  3. Inception was a grand movie. Totally loved it and hope I’ll have a chance to see it again some time. Preferable on a bigger screen than your average TV.

    LOL I know what you mean. In the past 2 weeks I had to be super careful what music I was listening to and where. Because it was a something that goes straight to my heart I could just start welling up in public. And the looks you then get aren’t exactly flattering πŸ˜†

    Reply
    • We just purchased a new tv, which is quite big, so that was nice :).
      Haha, I know what you mean! I get red, swollen eyes, and red cheeks and stuff… Flattering – not. I don’t cry because of music, but this got me close though…

      Reply
      • *grinning* not because of the music itself, no. But if something occupies your heart and your mind and then you listen to the music like you put the video out … only one thing is programmed to happen πŸ˜€

  4. I never saw Inception – something tells me it’s not the right time for me. haha!
    Ditto to what Guapo and Michael said.

    Reply
  5. Inception was a fantastic movie. I recognized that top right away. But I’m dodging the music for now as I am in reflective mode. I love that you started off with a William Gibson quote. One of the great masters.

    Reply
    • I felt I needed to find a quote on time, because of the music, and this one just fit so perfectly…
      Give it a go when you feel strong enough to resist the sadness, because it’s really worth it though ;).

      Reply
  6. I am always ALWAYS reflecting. It’s the only way to learn πŸ™‚
    I have a whole list of melancholic tunes, a British band called Anathema can put you in that mind frame within a song or two.
    Most recently, Porcupine Tree and their songs “I drive the hearse” (yes really – but the lyrics really apply to my behaviour – perhaps to yours too???) or “Sentimental” by the same band πŸ™‚

    This is just a snippet – not that I am walking around being all sad on a daily basis – but let’s just say I am a deep thinker.

    Also, Hans Zimmer… ‘Nuff said!

    Loved this post! x

    Reply
    • Thank you my dear Edita!
      As long as it doesn’t affect you, in a bad way, I believe it’s good to reflect on your life. There are many things that are good to think of again. But sometimes, it becomes too much, and then you need to be able to take distance of your own thougths…
      I’ll give those songs a go! x

      Reply
      • Good or bad, reflections are always necessary. How else can we learn from our mistakes and make sure we never EVER make them again? πŸ™‚
        It does become too much sometimes – but you can direct the emotions into something creative; dancing, drawing, writing πŸ™‚ It’s a win win situation!

  7. I hope all is well on your end. Such a beautiful piece of music, thank you for sharing it with us. πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

