Fiction females

Fiction is filled with many interesting female characters. Most of them are pretty superficial and boring, actually, but some of them are worth taking a look at. Especially since I saw Inception. I present you: two impressive female characters of two movies.

The first is Mal from Inception. I can’t get that movie out of my head, which is a good sign I believe. In an attempt to not spoil anything: Mal is not the kind of woman who seems very nice. But she only appears in dreams, and apparently she was a very nice woman in real life. The actress is Marion Cotillard, and she does a great job. One look of her could kill you… She is so pretty and yet so threatening. I like that a lot. The first time Ariadne enters Cobb’s dream world and she takes the elevator down, and Mal looks at her, out of the blue… It was just a look, but I was terrified. Unfortunately I couldn’t find that scene, but this was one is equally scary.
Small note: everyone seems to be arguing because of the ending of this movie. Was it a dream? Was it real? I hope it is real, like everyone else I guess. But perhaps there isn’t one possibility for the end. Perhaps even Nolan doesn’t know it. I think it’s possible they didn’t want to choose one way, so why arguing?

How could you understand?
Do you know what it is to be a lover?
Half of a whole? Hmm?
I’ll tell you a riddle.
You’re waiting for a train, a train that will take you far away.
You know where you hope this train will take you, but you don’t know for sure.
But it doesn’t matter.
How can it not matter to you where that train will take you?

The second woman is almost as freaky as Mal. I know Snow White and the Huntsman doesn’t really sound like a movie for grown-ups, but hey, it was pretty good. I didn’t really like Kristen Stewart as Snow White, but that was more because of me imagining Snow White differently than because of everyone hating on her. She was sad enough for Bella I believe. I have seen but two movies of Twilight though, I’m just not going to judge.
But it’s not her I want to talk about. It’s Charlize Theron. She was Ravenna, the evil queen with the most fabulous clothes. Seriously, her wardrobe is awesome! And her jewelry as well. Classic, but with an edgy twist. Me like that. A sort of punk princess avant la lettre. She was really scary as well, but also very mental. I liked the way Charlize made her seem so vulnerable. She isn’t just a mean woman, she’s also a girl who was hurt too much, who’s afraid of growing old. The moment when she’s talking to the mirror man, and her brother sees her talking to no one, to air, is so powerful. unfortunately I couldn’t find these scene either… The gods were against me or something. But I got you the trailer.

Lips red as blood
Hair black as night
Bring me your heart
My dear, dear Snow White…

Evil as hell, but fabulous anyway!

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Inception is brill, and Mal certainly has a rather creepy role to play in it.

    The arguments about the ending… who cares if it was a dream or not? Just enjoy the film, yo.

    Reply
  2. Theron gave a powerful performance in that movie. She was intense and gave a convincing performance as a powerful woman who’d gone quite mad. Loved it.

    Reply
  3. Haven’t seen either of those movies.
    But I love when the women are strong characters, as opposed to just filling the “girlfriend” role.

    Reply
    • I think you’d really, really like Inception as well!
      Yes, stereotypes are so boring. The most interesting roles are always the ones who are way more complex I believe.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

