Life Choice # 1: Beer or Wine?

In life, we’ve got to make plenty of choices. Will I go to university? Will I marry him/her? Will I have children? What will I order at the cafΓ©? If you are like me, you’ve got a hard time making decisions. Every and each of them could lead to regret. That’s a scary thought.

But, luckily, we can always ask for other people’s opinion and see if they’ve got some wisdom to share. So let’s see what choice you make!

Today, the choice’s between beer or wine. There are two other options as well though – the hard stuff like rum and gin and wodka, or no alcohol at all. I don’t want to make it seem like everyone should drink. Let’s first say that all of this can be delicious, but not if you drink too much of it, obviously. But we’re never drunk or close to drunk, are we? Good.
Personally, I totally prefer beer. But hey, I’m Belgian, and we’ve got the best beer in the world. Besides that, there’s a lot of different sorts of beer. Very different of the Heineken you probably get served in your country (unless we share our homeland). Especially the dark beers have my preference.
Wine is different. White wine is okay, but red wine doesn’t always taste that well. It also turns your lips red. Somehow, such coloured drinks immediately leave marks on my lips. Don’t know why. Very annoying.
When I started drinking though, I was totally ‘wodka-red bulled’. Probably because it was so sweet. But it’s also expensive, and well, I don’t know, I just don’t drink that anymore. It seemed fancy when I was 16 (legal age in Belgium to drink!), but now I feel more casual when drinking beer. And you can be assured of some surprised family members when suddenly drinking these ‘heavy’ beers. But it tastes so well…

So I’m choosing beer. What’s your choice?

Beer – Leffe

 

Fancy wine picture

Leave a comment

33 Comments

  1. Oh that’s tough. I like a beer on a hot day or when watching sports, sitting around a camp fire etc, but a glass of wine is nice with a book or a bubble bath or a romantic dinner….
    So both!
    Either way,
    Cheers!

    Reply
  2. It depends… on the meal, the occasion, or the company.

    Reply
  3. Beer, definitely. Mainly because I don’t like wine.

    Vodka Red Bull is awesome stuff, though. I actually hate the taste of both them, but when you put them together something magical happens. Unfortunately the magic is so powerful that it makes forget everything the next morning.

    Reply
    • You’re my man!
      True, something magical happens. But because of it being so strong and expensive, I never drank much of it. Beer, especially cheap beer, is way more dangerous :).

      Reply
  4. At last! The important questions!
    Totally dependent on my frame of mind, or the company.
    Generally, I enjoy savoring a good cold beer, anything from Guiness up to some of the blond stuff.
    And tequila and I have a long and tempestuous relationship, but there are still some people out there that can get me to drink more of it than I should.

    Reply
    • It had to happen one day ;).
      Yup, the liquor stuff is tricky as hell. Or perhaps it’s the people. Either way, it’ts a tricky thing.
      I haven’t heard many good reveiws on Guinness though. Have you tried Belgian beer already? Please do so and save our economy ;). No really, people made me afraid of Guinness…

      Reply
      • Guinness is definitely an acquired taste. For those who persevere beyond the early tastes of bitterness and thickness, a delightful reward awaits.
        And the Belgian stuff I’ve had, I’ve generally enjoyed (though I can’t remember what labels I’ve drank.)
        (Hmm…must have been quite good!)

      • Hahaha, I think so too, the less you remember, the tastier it was, I guess…?
        Perhaps one day I’ll give it a shot. Until then I’ll play it safe and go for the stuff I’m pretty sure off.

  5. I prefer beer, myself. It is more casual and I actually love the taste, especially with certain foods. White wine would be my next choice. That’s about it for me. I drank when I was young, but not anymore, really. Glad you’re a beer girl I knew I liked you!

    Reply
    • You are so cool Lisa :)!
      I too would choose white wine when not beer. I guess there’s a certain age where you just want to watch young people get drunk and be stupid, and no longer be as stupid yourself ;).

      Reply
      • haha! Maybe one day we’ll have the chance to have that beer, Astrid. I would love that. And by the way, I always notice that when women order beers guys really think that’s cool. It’s like they look at you with new eyes. It must have a deeper meaning to them. πŸ˜‰

      • Perhaps it’s a sort of code language we don’t know of… πŸ˜‰
        It’s really weird how many guys consider beer drinking girls sexy. I seriously didn’t know that. Next time I’m going to ask why that is ;).

      • Yes! Please ask. They do think it’s sexy. There’s no denying it.

      • Okay, I’ll let you know if I’ve got an answer :).

  6. Beer or cider on a hot day.
    White wine with seafood, red wine with vegetarian meals (seeing as I don’t eat meat).

    But let’s be honest here: it’s all about the champers & cocktails. Mojitos, Bellinis etc πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • Woosh, expensive taste there, no? πŸ˜‰
      Let me get this straight: you don’t eat meat? Because this is starting to be quite freaky… But in a good way ;).
      The memories cider left me with once are too dark to really say I liked it ;). But maybe I should just try it again, as you say, on a hot day!

      Reply
      • It depends what cider – u know? Some of products out there arent that good, others are nice πŸ™‚ try a few and see! πŸ™‚

        And yes, i don’t eat meat πŸ™‚ 4 years!

      • Woah, we’re like brain clones or something… πŸ˜‰
        Okay, I’ll just come to London and then we’ll try out some cider stuff!

  7. Wine for the most part. It doesn’t fill me up like beer, and has some redeeming qualities for health ( although others say beer does as well). Cold beer on that hot summer day in Texas is always good tho!

    Reply
    • O that entire ‘is alcohol good or bad’ discussion… I just believe that both are good when not drank too much :).
      Any specific preference for wine? White, red, rosΓ©?
      Hot summer days seem to pushing people towards beer, seeing the comments here!

      Reply
  8. I once drank beer, moved to tequila, then stopped drinking when I had children (a time when some say they started! Hah!). I never liked wine, it always had an aftertaste I couldn’t get past.

    Reply
    • Evolution, it also happens this way. You are pretty strong to stop drinking when you had children! You hear quite a lot of stories of mothers who see their glass of wine as a reward for the effort they did that day.
      I agree on the aftertaste though. Perhaps that is what always bothered me about wine…

      Reply
  9. I’ve been getting into dark beer lately. It’s just so damn delicious.

    Reply
  10. When I can’t decide between option A or B, I do both. πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • Hahaha, that might just be the best solution I’ve heard so far!
      Though I must say they both taste a lot worse when combined. But after a few, taste doesn’t matter that much anymore ;).

      Reply
  1. And I’m back! | No Blog Intended

Leave a Reply

