Another rainy day

Rain.
Everything is rain.
There is no point in realising it’s spring, because everything is dark anyway.
And life slowly ends.
Our cafe is closed because the people who run it should be studying.
Everytime I walk past our very own closed cafe, I think of how depressing it looks.
Just chairs on tables and darkness.
No people.
And the puddles.
The lack of sun.
The cold.
It’s so cold.

It’s winter.

There aren’t many ways to survive this endless winter, but if I may suggest something, go watch The Great Gatsby. It’s a wonderful movie. Those parties look awesome, the clothes are fantastic, and that entire world is intruiging. I didn’t know the story in advance, but it was easy to follow. The looks on teh faces of the characters is sometimes enough. Powerful. Great.

Meanwhile, we will all have to try to survive this. Let’s support each other in these hard times, that aren’t elegant and vivacious as in The Great Gatsby. I’d seriously like to be at one of those parties, just drinking and making fun and looking fabulous. Life should be that careless.

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

22 Comments

  1. I myself prefer a neighborhood bar to an overblown party…
    Hang in there, NBI. The sun has to come out eventually.

    Reply
    • Depends, depends… Both have their charming side.
      I try, I try, but I’ve been waiting for so long now…

      Reply
      • Perhaps a trip to the local tanning salon?

      • You think I’m too pale? ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • It’s all that belgian white ale… ๐Ÿ˜€

      • Surely, surely, from now on I’ll only drink the ‘brown’ beers ;). No beach needed!

      • Can’t wait for the day after St Patricks Day!
        (Hope you take pictures of your fair green self!)

      • Hahaha, of course! Have you ever seen me after Blue Curacao?

      • You should also experiment with Midori and Limoncello!
        (Just not at the same time.)
        (Trust me on that one.)
        (Just don’t ask how I know.)
        (I really don’t remember.)

      • Absynth was on the list as well! Have you seen Moulin Rouge? “I’m a green fairy!” ๐Ÿ˜‰
        Thanks for the tip though!
        And thanks for totally making my day with that comment :D.

      • Glad you can laugh at my hard earned wisdom!
        ๐Ÿ˜›

        (We’re running out of emoticons)

      • Let’s see if this works… ๐Ÿ˜ฏ |B :p

      • (The shocked one is my all time favourite)

      • Lets see fif this works: B-) B)

      • We should demand that WP allows more emoticons!

      • YES!
        (Honestly, that would be a much more productive waste of time than the work stuff I’m doing at my desk today.)
        (We could make up a spreadsheet of all the emoticons we want!)
        (Oh, never mind. I’ve grown to loathe spreadsheets.)

      • Poor you :(.
        However not-productive your day is/was, you at least made my day less grey. So that’s pretty productive!
        And one day, we’ll get the emoticons we want! ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • Putting a smile on your face is easily the highlight of my day!
        (and thank you – that made my day!)

  2. Not sure if I asked or suggested to you, have you seen Midnight in Paris? You would probably enjoy it.

    Reply
    • I’ve seen the trailer because someone (on WP I think) suggested it, but I haven’t seen it yet… If I get the opportunity though I will not hesitate.

      Reply
  3. Addie

     /  May 23, 2013

    You paint with words.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

