Hidden talents

1. Spotting rain.

When I say it’s raining, it is raining. Trust me. Even though you might not see it. I’m never wrong.

2. Intonation.

My Russian teacher said my intonation was very good after my last oral Russian exam. I guess it’s a talent… Right?

3. Making spaghetti.

As in: warming up spaghetti. With my spaghetti-make-Tupperware-something. I got it from a friend and it’s like the best gift I ever got.

Heavenly, heavenly this.

4. Remembering music.

Like, really well, every instrument and every note. This mostly occurs when I’m half awake, and often I seriously have no clue of what song it is. I just lie there, the music plays in my head and I feel like I’ll never forget it – which I do. And I never find out which song it was. Almost never. But the music is somewhere in my head, hidden, locked up, waiting for a moment to come out and haunt me.

5. Writing without editing.

I once had an exam for which I had to write an essay, two pages max. While everyone was making schemes and writing it down as a draft first, I just started writing as soon as I had a general idea of what I wanted to say. The point is, if I write it down somewhere else first, I will be tired of it as soon as the draft version is finished. I kind of hate writing the same thing twice. So most things I write are pretty editing-less.

6. Getting a heart attack because of myself.

I can freak myself out by climbing creaking stairs, or by using the toaster. One tip: do not watch the toaster. It somehow enlarges the shock when you’ve got the visual effect as well.

Talented me, right? But what are your hidden talents?

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. Number 5 is how is go about writing ‘tings. Plans are for plebs.

    Number 6… seeing someone get startled because the toast popped up would be hilarious. I’d run around the house clapping, just to scare you.

    “oral Russian exam” sounds kind of rude.

    Reply
    • Hahaha, no worries, it’s probably quite different than you imagined it :).

      You would scare me to death with that! I hope you didn’t send a pop-up something instead of a book…

      Reply
  2. I can throw a rock with my toes. Amazing, right?

    Reply
  3. Wow. You are very talented!

    I can spread out my toes the way cats do when they are stretching. This usually freaks people out

    Reply
    • That’s awesome! I guess in a former life you must have been a cat ;).
      (Which would be so cool.)
      (And makes me kinda jealous…)

      Reply
  4. Wait – sorry, toaster?

    I can convince myself I’m right in any situation.
    Not a useful talent, but there it is…

    Reply
    • Yup, toaster. You know, with slices of bread. Popping out. Which nearly made me fade an accident, to literally translate a nice Flemish saying.

      Could be useful, sometimes, perhaps. You’re probably very good at empathy…?

      Reply
  5. You know that our talents are super similar? I can freak myself out in no time as well!

    Edita
    http://www.pret-a-reporter.co.uk

    Reply
  6. I’m particularly impressed with your rain spotting talent. I’ve lived in Washington for most of my life and I’m precipitationally challenged which is the politically correct method of saying someone is raintarded. Why do I feel the strong desire to trademark ‘raintarded’? Because I am a horrible person that’s why.

    Reply
    • You better trademark that word before I do!
      I sort of developped this talent because I needed it to survive. (Which means: because I hated rain.) (Still do, sometimes.)

      Reply
  7. You need to enter some sort of TV contest with this. Lay off the heart attack thing for a bit though. That will ruin your fame.

    Reply
    • No it won’t! Dying young gives good opportunites to become world famous and widely celebrated.
      Unless you die before you can actually prove something.

      Reply
  8. America’s Got Talent is coming soon. You should definitely audition.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

