Unknown Pleasures

Too long ago (two, three months?) I was at a party, and it was a good one, though there were barely any people. The people actually being there were fun, so it didn’t matter. One of the guys present wore a T-shirt of Unknown Pleasures, the Joy Division CD. A while later on, on a dull morning, I went to buy that CD. It was my very own unknown pleasure at that moment, and somehow, it still reminds me of that night. (And of the regrets afterwards – always say goodbye to people before leaving.)

I want that T-shirt as well. The cover of this CD is so simple yet slightly mysterious. What does it make you think of?

Joy-Division_Unknown-Pleasures_Shes-Lost-Control-1979

It made me think of mountains in some way. Not really calm and peaceful mountains, but more like Lord of the Rings-mountains, tricky and vile. On the other hand it made me think of this monument:

P1010493

It is a monument for the men of the Reichstag in Berlin (close to which you can find this) who were murdered by Hitler. The sharp edges and the uneven angles looked familiar. As you might see on every side there’s the name a killed man. Berlin is full of this kind of very touching monuments. They leave you all silent.

Truth is though, that this cover was in fact the first pulsar ever observed. Or at least, its signals. I guess no one thought of that, unless you know something about this first observed pulsar… Whatever it really is though, I believe you can see this any way you want. And even now I still think it’s pretty mysterious. I like it a lot, but that’s probably clear from this post…

And then we haven’t even talked on the songs yet… The music on this CD fits the cover (or its it the other way around?) very well. Sounds simple, yet dark and draws you in. Can be interpreted just the way you want. Especially one song drew my attention and never let it go again. The text can be read any way you want, so it always seems to fit somehow. At least for me it seems to be written about things I lived through. (You know I like this kind of drama.) And then the guitar… Played so painfully, achingly, yet great. (You know I like these 80 guitars.)

Of course the entire CD is worth listening too, but I can’t keep on ranting about this. I would seriously recommend you to listen to it though… 😉

The video can’t be posted, hurray hurray, but click on this for the video on YouTube.

New Dawn Fades

A change of speed, a change of style.
A change of scene, with no regrets,
A chance to watch, admire the distance,
Still occupied, though you forget.
Different colours, different shades,
Over each mistakes were made.
I took the blame.
Directionless so plain to see,
A loaded gun won’t set you free.
So you say.

We’ll share a drink and step outside,
An angry voice and one who cried,
‘we’ll give you everything and more,
The strain’s too much, can’t take much more.’
Oh, I’ve walked on water, run through fire,
Can’t seem to feel it anymore.
It was me, waiting for me,
Hoping for something more,
Me, seeing me this time, hoping for something else.

This CD should best be listened while rain is pouring down and you’re drinking coffee/tea and feel like being very nostalgic. Cigarette can be added if wanted.

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Great album, and I learned only recently the source of the cover image. Thanks for the reminder.

    Reply
  2. It looks like a graphical representation of an equalizer to me…
    Joy Division is good stuff! They’d probably appreciate your comparison to the reichstag monument.

    Reply
    • Probably, considering the fact that even their group name has something to with the nazis! (If my sources are right).
      The equalizer-thing sounds pretty probable as well, now you say so!

      Reply
  3. I know someone who just got the album cover tattooed on her forearm. I thought she got it because she likes hiking. Instead she got it because this is her favorite band this month. She’s one of those people.

    I honestly couldn’t name a single Joy Division song. The first time I ever heard of them was from a movie when they were faking a friend’s suicide and they bought a Joy Division CD to make it look more likely that he was depressed.

    Reply
    • Hehe, her favourite band this month, then why not?
      You probably know their songs without being aware of that. Love will tear us apart? She’s lost control? Their most famous songs.
      I’d say, search for them and become a fan just like me ;).

      Reply
  4. It’s probably one of the most influential albums of all time – the kind of record that, when it came out, only 10,000 people bought but 8,000 of them went on to form other bands.

    Reply
    • Hehe :).
      Yeah, it didn’t sell all too well according to Wikipedia, in the beginning though. Right now I think a lot of people have this album. It’s so different that it could almost be nothing but influential!

      Reply
  5. Cool! It made me thing of seismic activity being recorded but a pulsar is a lot better

    Reply
    • Woah yes, seismic activity does look a lot like this!
      It’s great how all of you have such ‘legitimate’ ideas for the cover! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

