Micha

A few years ago I bought a book on Polaroid pictures. It was at the time I was really interested in photography, which I still am, but not as much as I used to be. The problem is that everyone can take a picture and it can look good. Where’s the line between a pro and someone who’s just Instagramming food?
But that’s a discussion for some other time.
There was one picture in this book that really struck me. At first sight it might just be a woman, holding her hands against her face. There was something though, that made me keep on looking. In the beginning she seemed old to me, because she had this attitude I can’t really explain. It’s probably a sort of wisdom she carries out. A closer look made clear that she’s not that old at all, and she might be Indian.
And something in this picture seems to show there’s an entire world behind this, a story, a past. Not many pictures have this effect, but this one does. I immediatly liked this woman; she seems to be wise but worried at the same time. Unfortunately I couldn’t find more information on who she is, but I did find out that William Ropp is a really good photographer.

Micha Ropp

Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. Le Clown

     /  August 18, 2013

    NBI,
    It’s a striking picture. Its symmetry is also disconcerting. My first thought was that it was tempered with, but the hair says otherwise. A fantastic image.
    Le Clown

    Reply
  2. This is creepy. Really. Normal black and white pictures freak me out enough.

    Reply
  3. Are the hands hers? Quite disturbing for some reason

    Reply
  4. Rael

     /  August 19, 2013

    Really cool pic. Has something very mysterious and creepy, but it’s awesome!

    Reply
  5. That picture is definitely worth a thousand words.
    I was in a store the other day that was selling polaroid cameras and film cartrdges.

    Reply
    • Well said!
      I know someone who bought such a camera, but she soon found out the right stuff for real pictures wasn’t made anymore, at least not anywhere she could get it…

      Reply
  6. What I love about Polaroid photos are they are exactly what you (and the photographer) see…no digital mucking about. To me, black and white photography is much more an art than color photography.

    Reply
    • Yes, that’s really cool about the polaroid pictures! And I think the best artists are the oens that don’t need the touch up. (Unless you go for fantasy like photography of course.)
      The lack of colour immediately gives a picture a sense of poetry. The use of light becomes way more obvious. As you say, that’s great art!

      Reply
  7. Wow, it’s like a haunted Mona Lisa, in black and white. Quite stunning!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

