Life Choice # 6: Day or Night?

Up here, there’s a saying that can be roughly translated to ‘mornings are gold’. It’s the saying people use to get you out of your bed in the middle of the night… At least, what I consider to be the middle of the night. But I’m a night owl. Every morning I struggle to get out of bed, especially when there’s nothing fun to look forward too, or nothing as stressy as an exam. I need a really, really good reason to obey the alarm clock. After having the same alarm clock for 7 years or something, I still wake up quite often thinking ‘what’s this noise? What’s that? How can I stop it? I want it to stop! But how?’ Then I realise it’s the alarm clock, and I push a button, sometimes multiple buttons before I hit the right one that releases me from the annoying sound (which is just the radio, not even the annoying beep thing).
So yeah, mornings aren’t really gold to me… On the other hand, nights are my habitat. As often as I wake up disoriented, I can feel myself really waking up at 10 PM. And why go to sleep when you’re not tired? Having class all day and then going out until the sun comes up again – no big deal. I even managed twice to do this, and then without having slept I went to my morning class. I was pretty dead afterwards, and I sincerely promised myself never to do it again, but still I survived and really did that.

Mornings are made to work, you have to get up early because there’s stuff to be done and you should start with that as soon as possible. But nights are made for fun. You can either dance ’till sunrise or watch a movie, or listen to music before you go to sleep, it doesn’t matter – nights aren’t made for all duties you have to do. (It’s different whenΒ  you have an exam the next day, or when you do night shifts.) They have some kind of magic as well. You can dress up, put on makeup, lots of it because you won’t see it that hard, and become your ‘nighty’ self. When you don’t go out, nights still have this kind of ‘coziness’. Light a candle, close the curtains and enjoy your little cave.Β If you don’t even do that, remember that you sleep at night. Nothing feels as good as a warm, nice bed when you’re tired. That’s also a part of the night-time.

I guess it’s pretty clear I’m a night owl. No, I don’t like the idea of getting up because there’s too much that has to be done, too much that can bother you. No, I don’t feel well when I leave my bed so soon. It makes me nauseous instead. Just let me run around in moonlight and me is happy.

Kind of true sometimes. But still better than days.

What about you? Do you prefer day or night?

Leave a comment

25 Comments

  1. I don’t sleep in as much as I used to, but then again I don’t tend to stay up as late as I used to. I definitely feel that I’ve wasted half the day if I get up after, say, 10:30am.

    My alarm going off at 6am makes me feel sick though.

    That picture is very true as well!

    By the way, do you watch/follow field hockey at all? There’s a European hockey tournament going on in Boom, Belgium at the moment. The Belgian men’s team beat England 3-0 last night, and it was a complete thrashing you gave us! They’re the best team in the world at the moment and they’re in the final against Germany tomorrow.

    England women are playing German women in their final today in an hour’s time.

    Reply
    • Holy m*therf*ck, why didn’t I know? We’re the kind of country that only makes a big deal of football and tennis :(. At least the men gave your men a big trashing, yay! But I don’t think I’ll be watching it (if I could find it), because I already feel guitly fo blogging while the exam is creeping towards me so fast.

      I agree on the 10:30 by the way. It’s my holidday now and my alarm clock goes off everyday at 9 AM. But 6 is just suicide. Dear lord, good luck with surviving that…

      Reply
      • Yeah, hockey is a minority sport over here as well.

        Belgium play tomorrow at 4pm your time I believe, but I couldn’t even begin to tell you what channels it might be shown on!

      • I found out they show it here, but only small parts I believe, before they start going all cycle racing again… Because fuck variety, dammit.
        I’ll try to follow the results somehow on the Internet. Feel free to spam me with news.

      • I’m sad to report that Germany beat Belgium 3-1 in the final. I only caught the last ten minutes but the commentators said that the Belgian team dominated the first half but just couldn’t get the ball into the goal.

        The fans did themselves proud though – the stadium packed out in Belgian red shirts!

        Germany women also beat England women in the other final, the swines.

      • Oh, that’s sad… Such a pity they couldn’t make a goal, as that is what the game’s about… Luckily there were fans! Imagine how pathetic it would have been to lose without even people to mourn over the loss.
        Germany is doing too well there. They ruin our successes dammit!

        But thanks for letting me know!

  2. Yep.
    It took me a long time to be able to wake up in the morning for a day job. On weekends, I wake up late and stay up way too late,even if nothing is going on.

    Weekends should be longer.

    Reply
    • Yeah, they should!
      Even when nothing is going on, it feels good to be able to wake up late and stay up late. Like ‘yeah, I’m such a rebel I won’t go to sleep yet!’ πŸ˜‰

      Reply
  3. Rael

     /  August 25, 2013

    People always say that I’m not a night owl because I can be pretty damn active in the morning! But sometimes.. that cave idea does strike me as very appealing! Curl up on the sofa watching a nice movie, or getting cleaning kicks and running around my house cleaning like crazy around 1 a.m. πŸ˜€

    Reply
  4. When I was young, I was a night-person. I consumed the night and was with all of my friends who also loved the night. As I got older the morning became easier to deal with. Like the sun was my friend, and I had to thank it for coming up again for me and the world. I have made sleep less of a priority, I guess I can like them both.

    Reply
    • Hmm, interesting, a change! But I guess it’s pretty normal to change yourhabits when you go from studying/school to work.
      It’s a good thing you can like them both, that’s the real win-win! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  5. thegeekyg4mer

     /  August 26, 2013

    I’m a night owl too, but I find now the older I get the less I sleep which kinda sucks when you already hate mornings lol

    Reply
    • That sucks indeed! How come you sleep less now?

      Reply
      • thegeekyg4mer

         /  August 26, 2013

        I dunno, I think just as you age in general your body needs less and less. When I worked nightshift in the taxies I used to come home at 6am and sleep till like 3 or 4 in the afternoon, sometimes longer. Before I had my accident I was always tired because I’d wake at 11am and not be able to get back to sleep.

      • O dear lord, that’s tough! It probably kills your biological rythm. If it’s too light, your body will go like ‘wake up!’ while you still want to sleep.
        That’s why I don’t want to do night shifts.

      • thegeekyg4mer

         /  August 26, 2013

        lol Ah you’ve a good 20 years ahead of you before all this happens anyways.

      • Twenty years? You sure? I’m almost 20 now :).

      • thegeekyg4mer

         /  August 26, 2013

        Aye lol i’m old by your standards! Less sleep didn’t come until I hit 40 lol

      • Haha no, I didn’t mean you’re old, I meant that I thought it would happen sooner, that’s all :). 40 is not that far away, before you know it I’ll be 30, and that’s so clsoe to 40 ;).

      • thegeekyg4mer

         /  August 26, 2013

        Lol it was me saying I was old ya eejit πŸ™‚

  6. thegeekyg4mer

     /  August 27, 2013

    Good luck today πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • O thanks! I’ve done it, and I’m not really sure how it went though…

      Reply
      • thegeekyg4mer

         /  August 27, 2013

        …fingers, toes, next door neighbours dogs legs, everything is crossed! Keep us informed πŸ™‚

      • Hehe, I can feel the support coming through! I will, I will, but it will take another two weeks before I know my grade…
        But I really appreciate your comments and support, that’s so nice to see! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

