Music on Monday : Melancholy

There’s your cell, and that’s you sitting in its corner, because corners feel safer. It’s quite cold, dark and empty in there. But the outside world is burning hot.
Once, once you had everything: nice people around you, fancy dresses and beautiful jewels. Life was good. But that changed and now you’re left with nothing, heading straight for the end. This is a lonely place, the dungeon where they locked you up. It’s a sad and tragic thing. A sad and tragic life…

This is a video on Katherine Howard’s days before she was executed. The fragments are taken from the TV series The Tudors, which was really, really good, and its soundtrack is stunning. I might be posting more of the music used there, because it is so amazingly great. There’s a great sadness in this music that’s subtle and beautiful at the same time.
But for now this will do as tomorrow, my execution will take place… In the form of an exam. I’m scared. Actually I really am… I don’t want to fail again. I want to feel smart!

So please, burn a candle for me or something. Who knows, it might just work…!

Leave a comment

18 Comments

  1. Smart and book smart are two completely different things.
    Hope that by the time you read this, it will be a new day, and you’ll have put the test behind you, passing it in flying colors.

    And if not, well, we can just grab a beer and say uncomplimentary things about the course material.

    Reply
    • Unfortunately it’s still Monday, and I still got Internet connection, which I use for both educational and other uses. Like blogging.

      Yeah, let’s grab that beer and gossip about the fact that the teacher had a big hole in his shirt last time.
      I mean, man, I was wearing heels especially for this exam, and he wore old clothes.

      Reply
      • Ha! You elevated the whole thing (and probably quite stylishly, too).!

      • I try to intimidate people like that, as I’m a naturally tall person already ;).
        Didn’t work though, because we had to sit down dammit.

      • Yeah, but I can’t see standing for the test making it any easier.
        Especially if you were already stressed.

      • True that. I might have decided to lie down instead. That would’t have helped either.

      • Oh! But it might have gotten you out of the test, with a reschedule for later!

        At least it’s out of the way now…

      • I got my reschedule either way!
        Besides, I truely thought there was a good chance I would make it. But that hope was crushed quite soon after getting the guestions…

  2. thegeekyg4mer

     /  August 26, 2013

    I love love loved the Tudors!! So much so I bought 3 of the soundtracks. I always play them when I feel melancholy, but strangely it helps. Tomorrow, all you can do is your best, no one can ask more than that, and knowing you, your best will be awesome 🙂

    Reply
    • That series seriously rocks!!
      Wow, thanks for your belief in me :). I hope I won’t disappoint my family, myself nor you tomorrow…

      Reply
  3. I haven’t watched any of The Tudors yet but that is a very nice piece of music.

    Good luck with the exam!

    Reply
    • It’s a bit like Game of Thrones but then medieval history style, and the soundtrack is great. I’m glad you liked this piece!
      And thanks, I can certainly use it!

      Reply
  4. Rael

     /  August 26, 2013

    I watched the Tudors and this was indeed hauntingly beautiful 🙂

    Good luck on your exams, I will keep my fingers crossed for you!!

    Reply
  5. I actually have two candles I use for prayer and meditation. Of course I will light one for you and send you smart and courageous thoughts.

    Beautiful music, Christy

    Reply
    • That’s very kind of you! Though I’m not a believer, I am somewhat supersticious, and you know, who says it doesn’t work, lighting candles?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

