Life Choice # 8: Trousers or Skirts?

Now this is important. This is something I’ve been struggling with. What you wear, defines you, so you have to be sure you wear the right thing. That’s most obvious.
No, really, it’s not that dramatic, but it’s an interesting question. For years and years I wore barely any skirt or dress, I was all jeans, because it was so easy. I had to spend almost an hour on a bike every day, through rain and snow and sun, and in that case jeans are just the most comfortable solution. There was even a year I didn’t wear a skirt for about seven months. For a girly girl, that’s not so typical, is it…? I mean, I’m not all pink and flowers, but I’m certainly not a skater girl or a sporty one. I have never been that way either. You’d expect me to wear heels and skirts.
But I like comfortable clothes, so I wore trousers. I still like trousers. There are so many cool ones in the world… Like, everywhere you look!

I have similar ones, and seriously, I was the first one to wear these. Call me hipster, but it's true. Source.

I have similar ones, and seriously, I was the first one to wear these. Call me hipster, but it’s true.
Source.

I know I recently ranted against them, but actually that was above all because of one awesome and cool pair that is just not quite long enough for my endless legs (ahem). I still like my skinny jeans and the leggings-with-zippers-so-trousers, the inevitable black trousers, and the fake leather ones though they aren’t quite long…

But I’ve also come to love skirts and dresses a whole lot. I mean, I’ve always liked them, but barely wore them. Now the tide is turning. I spend less time on a bike. At least, it’s divided into more parts, so I don’t spend much time at once outside. I can be sure I won’t freeze to death – always important to know!
And now I’m a big, big fan of skirts and dresses. It’s hard to find good ones as well. Try being as tall as I am. Finding a skirt that’s long enough is like finding a treasure really…! I hope people realise I’m not voluntarily slut like dressed. There isn’t really a choice…

One thing that makes me love skirts so much, are nylon stockings. There are many cool trousers, but there are at least as much cool nylon stockings! Sometimes I just want to buy more skirts in order to wear those awesome nylon stockings. I kid you not. Recently a friend of mine came over wearing the most awesome stockings, and I kept telling her they were so cool, until she granted me permission to buy them as well. Yay! Thank you, friend. You rock. (And so do the nylons, which by now have been bought by me as well of course).

These are the nylons I'm talking of. Of course we don't wear them like this... But they fit with many different styles. Source.

These are the nylons I’m talking of. Of course we don’t wear them like this… But they fit with many different styles.
Source.

So now I’m balancing on the edge of trousers and skirts.
But what do you prefer? And why? Which ones do you consider the most comfortable for everyday use? And for the men: do you like kilts? Please be honest ;).

Previous Post
Leave a comment

22 Comments

  1. I’m very much in favour of letting women air their legs every now and then.

    Kilts are just daft, though I’ll happily wear shorts during the summer.

    Reply
  2. NotAPunkRocker

     /  November 4, 2013

    I like both, but at my current size tend to stick mostly to pants/trousers/whatever. Skirts don’t hang right after a certain size/weight with my body type.

    Reply
    • The way skirts hand and move can be important as well indeed. So many things that influence it…
      The best thing to do is indeed wear what feels the best for you! I hope though that you won’t let yourself be stopped from wearing skirts ;).

      Reply
  3. RO

     /  November 4, 2013

    In my daily life I teach. Boys. Not a very good place to show a lot of leg so I usually tend to wear trousers to work. Sometimes I do wear a skirt or a dress that is just above the knee and I feel comfortable in that too. Until the moment one of my students makes a remark about it 😉
    Skirts are awesome and feminine but they can be a nuisance too.. taking off that damn stocking every time you have to go to the toilet..

    Reply
    • Okay, I accept that as a legit reason for wearing trousers! Just above the knee, I like that too, for summer dresses. My motto though is that the darker the stockings are, the shorter the skirt can be.
      But that’s also because I don’t really have a choice ;).

      Haha, yeah! Or when you feel them slowly creeping down and you just want to pull them up again, but you can’t because you’re in public…

      Reply
      • RO

         /  November 4, 2013

        Haha ohhh man that’s so annoying!!

        And I do have short skirts/dresses but they are reserved for private life not working life, haha!

      • And at least you get to wear nylon stockings in ballet class, right? 😉

      • RO

         /  November 4, 2013

        Haha.. yayyyyy….. They’re pink 😦

      • …Which in ballet is cool!
        I’ve got black ones, without feet. And pink ones. But somehow, the pink ones look odd with a black leatord and black shorts…
        Perhaps you can go for the black ones as well? Or is there a strict dress code?

      • RO

         /  November 4, 2013

        Yeahhh it’s pretty strict.. We’re not supposed to wear black tights. Shorts are allowed but not preferred 😉

      • Ouch. But okay, I would never ever wear pink tights, but they’re very ballet like, so that is cool, right?
        Our shorts are more like underwear shorts we upgraded, haha :D. So they don’t really cover up anything.

  4. In high school and college (uni) I would wear skirts and dresses all the time. But in Canada for some reason I wear pants a lot. I rotate quite a bit. I actually feel more comfortable in skirts and dresses because I don’t have material sticking to me everywhere like when I wear jeans. Your body has more freedom! Haha

    Reply
    • Peoplechange I guess!
      I like that feeling of material sticking to me, haha :). The only thing I really want, is the ability to dance around in the clothes I’m wearing. If I’m able to do that, I’m happy!

      Reply
  5. Trousers and jeans forever!! They are more comfortable and more convenient in cold and rainy weathers. Plus, with the right accesories and a nice pair of shoes they can be as stylish as a dress or a skirt.

    Reply
    • I can but agree on that! Trousers can be very classy as well.
      Yeah, the cold and rainy days, they ruin every clothes plan you may have made… Grrr.

      Reply
  6. Oh A. It HASSSS TO BE BOTH! And more! Shorts, culottes, leggings, everything – gimme!

    Reply
  7. I find skirts and dresses most comfortable, and I rarely wear pants! I LOVE boots and tights with a cute skirt.

    Reply
  8. I think both can look great in their own way! I really do think those tartan trousers are rather jazzy…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

