Evil is the new sexy (part 1)

Question: what should a human being be like?
Good answer: good, kind, empathic, loving.
Fun answer: slightly evil!

Lately I’ve been noticing quite often that the slightly evil people in books or movies often turn out to be the most interesting and sexy characters. Do we really want kind and loving people, or do we in fact like it when someone is being a bit of a douchebag/bitch? Do we really want to be the good people everyone tells us to be?

No, we don’t. Because when you’re too good, you’re missing out, and you might let people run over you. Being a tad evil means you are strong enough to stand up for yourself. Being strong is nice, so yeah. When realizing this, I started looking around to see if I could find some good evil examples, so here we go…

Let’s start with a good old one: Dracula. The classic example of a man that’s dangerous and bad for your health, but o so irresistible. At least, that’s what he’s become lately, thanks to the media (the original Dracula is just a serial killer – nothing romantic about that). Now this series is running on the Belgian tv, and I so want to watch it! I mean, the hat, the moustaches, the clothes for god’s sake! I’m normally not very fond of moustaches, but hey, it’s No Shave November after all. And Joe just rocks it. (I shouldn’t call him Joe, should I?)

Let’s stay in this atmosphere a little bit with the movie The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen. While most people aren’t very fond of it, I actually kind of enjoyed it. Especially Mina Harker, the Mina of Dracula indeed, was so cool. She was this mature, dignified woman with dresses and a voice to kill for. And o yeah, she’s a vampire! But above all that whole attitude of her – she’s the kind of woman you are a bit scared of, because she knows more than you do, and she will be right, always.

Mina

Next to that, there’s this Dorian Gray in this movie. He’s a total bastard and looks like one too, but still, some people get away with that.

Now, let’s leave the vampire sector and move on to a pretty evil song from Indiana. If you think you hear ‘I want to hurt you just for fun’, you are very right. To quote the singer though: “I make music to tell stories, I don’t want to hurt people just for fun.”(approximately a quote) But believe me, when you’re a bit angry or in a bad mood, this is perfect to listen to.

A good example of evil, but also good, is Morgan La Fay. She’s a powerful sorceress and possible half sister of King Arthur. She tried to get that pretty amazing sword Excalibur while Arthur wants it as well. For this purpose she uses one of her lovers. One of them. Which means there were more. But next to her evil actions she’s also a good human being. When Arthur is fatally injured, she’s one of the women carrying him to Avalon.

By JR Spencer Stanhope

Those eyes! That look! She’s kinda a femme fatale.

The last one for now is I. Not I as in me, but I from Zamyatin’s novel ‘We’. It’s 1984 avant la lettre; the story takes place in the future, when society has become something very clear (literally a glass world). There is but one party everyone has to vote for. Actually, you don’t have to, but they’ll take you out if you don’t, because it means there’s something wrong with you. Everyone is happy that you’re protected this way. Now in this world lives D, a devoted and good human being who works really hard and is really convinced that this world is perfect. He starts writing a diary in which he writes about his work and his world. But slowly there’s this I showing up in his life more and more. She’s not the example of a good citizen of the One State, she drinks, she smokes, she breaks the rules. But D gets attracted to her, she almost makes him worship her. But then (spoiler alert!), of course, it turns out she was using him the entire time to get a revolution started. She used him and he believed she loved him… Tragic. And though you know it’s not very likely she truly loves him, you still kind of believe it might all be real…
Evil evil evil, but irresistible.

Stay tuned for more evilness!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

27 Comments

  1. It’s always been easier to create a successful “bad” character than a “good” one, largely because the former is more credible.

    Reply
  2. Lol it is kinda true isn’t it,all the girls love a bit of a bad boy!! Jonathan Rhys Meyers is a whole lotta bad that I’d like to experience! lol

    Reply
  3. A bit of evil can go a long way. This is one of the reasons I am with le boyf for such a long time 😉

    Reply
  4. You girls do like a bit of rough.

    Are American and British TV shows broadcast in English in Belgium?

    Reply
    • Yep, we don’t dub, luckily. We’ve got subtitles everywhere, except for publicity. We mostly don’t even translate slogans… I guess it’s some kind of inferiority complex.

      Reply
  5. laurerz

     /  November 26, 2013

    I really love your blog, very versatile and I can relate to a lot of it. (if that doesn’t sound lame.)

    Lost Boys is a good example, and definitely a better portrayal of vampires than recently. Mmm.. Lost boys.

    (New to WP so feel free to pop over to my Sex & the City esq dating type blog and check it out/follow. 😀 Thanks!)

    Reply
    • Thanks! I try to be versatile, because it sounds better than being a chaotic mind, hehe :).
      Lost Boys is on the list of movies I still have to see! One day, one day.
      I’ll take a look in a sec!

      Reply
  6. I love the bad characters!! The thing is, I always feel for them more in some twisted – sick – way. What can I say.. I love bad boys/girls! 😉 Maybe because they somehow do what ordinary people can’t/never will do!

    Reply
    • Yeah, they are so much more interesting! ANd they do the things will all want to do sometimes… I guess that’s why they appeal to us so much…

      Reply
  7. Oh and love Dracula the series btw. Started following as soon as it came on tv in America!!!

    Reply
  8. It’s easier to root for the bad guy in a book or movie because it’s not real, and we can enjoy it vicariously.
    In real life, good and evil are both usually overrated.

    Reply
    • Agree agree agree.
      And glad to see you here again! Don’t hide for too long, we need you! 😉

      Reply
      • I expect I’ll be back at some point.
        For now, I don’t have any fun stories to share, and I don’t feel like just being grumpy online.

        Still reading your stuff though!

      • Okay, I’ll try to cheer you up somehow.
        My grumpiness sort of disappeared when it stopped raining here, so while I’ll try to give you interesting stuff to read, I wish you no rain and much sun.

  1. Evil is the new sexy (part 2) | No Blog Intended
  2. Evil is the new sexy (part 3) | No Blog Intended

Leave a Reply

