Evil is the new sexy (part 3)

Ready for the last doses evilness? Then here we go! Make sure to read thisΒ  and this as well in case you can’t get enough of evil people.

First of all I’d like to apologize for repeating myself – there are some clips I keep on using, I know that. But in case you’ve missed them, you just get to see them again, and in case you’ve already seen them, feel free to skip those.
So here we go again for Anne Boleyn. I still find The Tudors an awesome series, and Anne Boleyn was so well played, amazing. But you must admit that in the beginning, we all hated her a bit. She was the cause of Katherine’s misery, how could we forgive that? After a while though, I couldn’t help but understand that it wasn’t even personal… She was kind of forced to seduce the king, and in the end she was left behind by everyone it seems.
Still, kinda evil. The way she talks about Katherine, and the way she talks to Mary… Ouch.

Thanks to Edita I also want to point out Lilith. She’s a sort of mythological figure, a female storm demon, bringing illness and death to the people. Not the best thing to be known of… In the Bible she’s depicted as a ‘night ghost’, and in the Jewish myths she sometimes appears as the first wife of Adam. She wouldn’t have been made of a part of his body, making her equal to him. That also caused her to require equal rights. They constantly fought about that until Lilith was fed up with that and called God. (She knew his secret name – useful!) Though God wanted her to return to Adam, she refused and wouldn’t give in. If that ain’t badass… In my opinion she was very right to do so. But okay.
It is said that the woman on the right of God in Michelangelo’s painting might be her. Who knows… I wonder if they have figured out who everyone on the painting is. Imagine that that is possible!

Back to more recent times, have you seen The Avengers? I haven’t, but apparently, girls were fond of Loki – though he’s the bad guy! So I felt like I sort of had to include him. When searching for a good clip starring him, I must say his voice sounded pretty nice… And well, a bad guy is always a bit more interesting than a good guy that spends his time saving kittens (though in the end, I’d choose the kittens guy, obviously – I love kittens).

As the last thing I’d like to show you – I know there are many others, but I can’t show them all unfortunately – I want to show you Death. Do you imagine Death wearing a yellow dress, smoking cigarettes? Could you imagine her on pointes, with classical music in the background?
If no, well, I didn’t picture her like that either, but now I do. If you think ballet is boring and nice, think again, because in Le Jeune Homme et La Mort (The Young Man and Death), the ballerina is a real femme fatale, toying with the young painter until he breaks down. She constantly pulls him closer, only to kick him away again, literally. Nonchalantly smoking she walks around and makes him go mad. He looks so broken…
Now, that is what I call evil. Death appears at 4:40, in case you want to skip to that part immediately. It’s impressive how she plays with that poor guy. And yes, they’re actually smoking on stage in this part. In part 2 (you can find it on YouTube, of course) she ends up tying his rope – whether she’s Death or a real woman that drives him insane, she’s the ultimate evil person and therefore a great end to this series.

Leave a comment

24 Comments

  1. NotAPunkRocker

     /  November 30, 2013

    Loki was my reason for seeing the new Thor movie.

    I have watched The Tudors so many times now and could easily watch it again.

    Reply
  2. Medieval history is fascinating stuff, with all the paranoid inter-marrying and headchopping in order to secure power and influence.

    I haven’t seen The Tudors yet, though.

    Reply
  3. Ooo good choices!! You know how I feel about the Tudors! and yes Loki was kinda good for being bad, if you know what I mean lol

    Reply
  4. RO

     /  December 1, 2013

    Lilith is also to be said to be the first vampire, if you believe those kind of stories πŸ˜‰ Tudors will always be an amazing series, just yesterday my boyfriend and I said to each other that we would easily watch that entire show again, and again.. and again..!

    Reply
    • Well, yeah, there are so many stories you can just choose the one that sounds the best to you ;).
      It would be so awesome to have a Tudors marathon! With lots of food and drinks and just locking yourself up for 4 seasons, hehe :D.

      Reply
  5. After watching that clip I feel like watching The Tudors once again…. Anne Boleyn was my favorite character. I find her persona fascinating.

    You haven’t watched The Avengers? It’s great! πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • She’s fascinating indeed! And the ‘deepest’ character in the series as well, I believe. She’s got the most facets and is showed more than the other women, so yeah.

      Okay, the pressure is getting there, I’ll watch it asap ;).

      Reply
  6. Agreed with RO, loads of accult followers pray to Lilith these days, it is also said that she has been removed from the original Bible as her image was too rebelious and, well sexy. Not good when you are trying to preach the blessed word. I think Lilith is sort of the 1st femme fatale to ever be – she could even be the ballet dancer in the yellow dress! What a routine!

    About Anne, I am not sure she is as evil as everyone else, to be honest. I think she is a victim of circumstance, dwelling deeper into her own delusions. She was my favourite out of all, others were a bit meh. And she also wore the best clothes!

    Reply
    • Apparently Lilith also appears in True Blood as the first female vampire. I had no idea… It’s a pity they let out the sexy rebel, but I understand they didn’t like that kind of person when preaching the blessed word indeed :).

      Anne was absolutely the most ‘developped’ wife in the series, and her dresses were great! I agree with you that she was a victim, but in the beginning I really thought of her as a bit of an evil woman. The way she treated Katherine and Mary wasn’t all too nice, but in the end she was indeed a victim yes…
      (Perhaps it was just a great excuse to put more videos of her up here ;). )

      Reply
      • Yep, Lilith’s in True Blood. Always naked too. Maybe like twice she wore some see-through chiffon, otherwise butt naked πŸ™‚

        And any excuse to include those dresses of Ann’s again!

        Also, let’s not forget that Mary grew up to become Bloody Mary in the end, so she doesn’t get any pity from me πŸ™‚ And the first wife? She was too whiny, so I was kind of waiting for her to die already!

        I know it sounds cruel, and I don’t want to end up in this list (lol), but the character was kind of annoying!

      • Well, I guess that’s what you’re supposed to do when you’re the sexy rebel…? (#stereotypes much!)

        But you could also state that Mary was a victim too! If you grow up like that, it’s quite inevitable that you end up with a twisted mind.
        Though somehow she does indeed deserve to be in this list too.
        And I was just thinking I should include you when I read that you don’t want to be a part of the list. Good thing you said so, otherwise… πŸ˜‰

      • Hahaha πŸ˜€ You and I don’t belong to lists! We are too unique πŸ˜€

      • Oooh I like that comment! πŸ˜€

  7. Haha I love Loki. I usually find myself rooting for the bad guys.. πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  8. You left out this gem from They Might Be Giants.
    (The music can also make for a pretty good dance routine!)

    Reply
  9. Hi. Instead of designing an Adviser Brochure, as I’m being paid to do, I (willfully) got sucked into Anne Boleyn. If you’re interested in that sort of thing, you should pick up a copy of Bringing Up the Bodies by Hilary Mantel. I think it came out in paperback a few months ago. It’s the Henry/Katherine/Anne/Jane saga and an absolutely captivating read. One of the best books I read all year.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

