When you start to appreciate

Do you love your family?

You probably do. Because, you know, it’s your family. You kinda have to love them. They’re the people you can’t avoid, so it’s better to accept them and like them.

But lately, I’ve noticed that I really love my family. Like, I am really happy to go home, to talk with them, to see them again. Not just because I have to, but because these are the people who know best how my mind works and why. In the end they’re the ones who had the biggest influence on me, so we are often so alike that well, other people will never understand it the same way as they do. It’s a bit weird though – this feeling really crept upon me a while ago to never let me  go again. I’ve always liked my family (offend them and you offend me – that kind of thing), but since a while I am conscious of that fact. I appreciate them more than ever.

Why? How?

Why do I want people to text me when they’re home? Why am I so worried about everyone? Am I becoming an emotional, caring and worrying creature?

I don’t want to make it sound as if I used to be a heartless little prick, but I guess I just wasn’t aware of how lucky one can be and how easily something can go wrong. Mostly people get all worried when they’ve been confronted with sitataions such as an accident or something. Then they suddenly ‘start to appreciate the small things, appreciate the people ‘ and so on. But I haven’t been in such a situation yet and still I’m appreciating everything, including people, more and I start worrying and everything.

There’s only one possible reason.

I’m growing up.

More of this here.

I guess it was inevitable. As soon as this academic year started I felt something had changed. Like, it became boring and I became one of the people saying ‘no, I shouldn’t go out, I have to work for school’. If that isn’t a sign of an upcoming boring adult life, I don’t know. And I guess a big part of that kind of life is that you start to realize what can go wrong (that’s like everything) and start to worry. Which isn’t all too bad, when you appreciate people and family more, but on the other hand is exhausting to worry all the time.

Maybe I just need to go find some swings again.

Swiiiiings! Source

Previous Post
Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. Love it. Appreciating the little things and most especially, family, is the key to family. Great post!

    Reply
  2. Absence makes the heart grow fonder.

    Mind you, so does absinthe.

    Reply
    • Do you know there’s this Belgian band called Absynthe Minded? It took me years to realize it’s a pun, but since I ‘discovered’ it I appreciate that as well ;).

      Reply
  3. Nice entry! I really love my family too and I’ve known this for quite some time. My mother died when I was 9 so we always had a pretty close bond. Nothing like family! Can’t choose ‘m, can’t lose ‘m but in the end you’re glad they’re there 🙂

    Reply
    • Wow, that must be rough, to lose your mother at such a young age… Good thing you’ve got a good relationship with your family! And as you say, in the end you have to admit that they’re very, very important and very much like yourself…

      Reply
  4. I like the illustration! I can’t say that I ever noticed things getting better for more than a very short-term – I hope you are growing up and all will be well – it will all be well no matter what – on this you can rely – grow up or not life moves on and luckily you go along with it!

    Elephant

    Reply
    • All will be well… One day, just not now I guess ;)!
      I hope that I’ll settle in this ‘adult like ‘ life somehow. I’ll kinda have to after all. Things mostly turn out fine in the end, but you have to worry about them a whole lot first ;).

      Reply
  5. There is always time for the swings. Especially when there isn’t.
    And it’s great that you love your family too!

    Reply
    • Haha yeah, that’s the perfect moment, the moment when you should be doing everything except going to the swings. I used to do it a lot and it was so nice – doing nothing but swinging back and forth. Meditation.

      Reply
  6. Hmm not sure it’s a growing up moment, but it is definitely an important one. I never had a moment like that, I just loved them the whole time. Also never had those “misunderstood” years. They always totally got me.
    Rejoice and enjoy family time 😉

    Reply
  1. Fear of the Dark | No Blog Intended

Leave a Reply

