Things I Always Have With Me

Or at least, almost always. These things are in general somewhere around if I’m there, and not having them often makes me nervous. Of course I’m not including the logic stuff such as an ID and money.

1. My Rings

I have three rings I wear daily. As soon as I put them on, I know I’m supposed to be awake. How could I possibly start my day without them? That’s near to imossible. One of them I’ve been wearing for about 5 years now – which for a young person as me is really much.

2. Earrings

I so love earrings. They’re the easiest way to change an outfit. If you know where to look they’re not even expensive. I feel like they are like a framework for my face, and I like the way they feel. When I’m in public and not wearing earrings, either I really really forgot, or I feel very bad. There is no other option. I’ve got a nice little collection by now, so I can always vary. That’s so nice.

3. Water

Preferably 1,5 l. I always carry water around, unless I go out (then I assume we’ll go somewhere you can buy drinks). Water is my thing. While other people in my class keep bying coke or that kind of thing, I’m drinking my water. It just feels a lot safer. What if you get thirsty? Imagine! It’s such a horrific idea that I always need my bottle. Give me my bottle and I feel safe.

4. Chewing gum

Imagine having bad breath – ew. I don’t want to be one of the people about whom the others say her breath smells, but she doesn’t realize. And I like mint. It helps to get the taste of food get away. Sometimes it’s really annoying to keep on ‘tasting’ the food you’ve had. I’m kind of an addict by now, but hey, I could be addicted to drugs as well, so I don’t think this is too bad.

5. Tissues

You never know when you catch a cold or spill something or whatever. These little packs of tissues are everywhere in my bags. Just in case.

 

What are you always carrying around and for what reason?

Leave a comment

37 Comments

  1. NotAPunkRocker

     /  March 31, 2014

    Gum, tinted chapstick and I usually have my sunglasses perched on top of my head ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  2. The important stuff: Wallet, ID, locked-room swipe IDs (work related), personal and work cell phones, lighter.
    The REALLY important stuff: wedding ring, guitar pick, necklace with cheap plastic medallion that’s very important to me.
    Miscellaneous: There’s no telling what’s in my knapsack at any given moment – writing book, novel, padlock, cable crimper, tools, knickknacks, possibly a toothbrush kit (with toothpaste and floss).

    Reply
  3. Chapstick, a bottle of water, my pen and notebook, a book (usually of poetry), and my iphone. I feel naked without any of them.

    Reply
    • Good list! For some reason I don’t have the guts to write in public, but otherwise I would bring a notebook with me everywhere as well :).

      Reply
  4. Sounds like you are very responsible with the water and tissues! I love rings as well! I used to wear earrings a lot in high school but not so much any more. I should start again. Gum is always a great idea. I have the same fear about bad smelling breath. Now I always carry Chapstick because my lips get chapped all the time. A little rollerball of perfume (for fun) and my iPod. I can’t go anywhere without my tunes!

    Reply
    • Chapstick seems to be a popular one! That’s very responsible of all you as well ;). Ah yes, it’s a good thing to have your music with you wherever you go!

      Reply
  5. Guilt – was raised a Catholic

    Reply
  6. Haha I always have tissues and chewing gum with me too, other than that I always carry a Chapstick and my Mac lipstick “all fired up”.

    Reply
    • The WordPress people are good at taking care for their lips, that’s for sure! ๐Ÿ˜€ When I’m wearing eyeliner, I also that take with me so when it starts to go wrong during the day, I can fix it :).

      Reply
  7. You accessorise more than Batman does.

    Do your rings secret caffeine by any chance? Most people have to drink some coffee to wake themselves up each morning.

    Reply
  8. Story of my life! Pretty scary, the only thing on your list that I don’t carry around on a daily basis is a pack or tissues.

    I wear my three rings when I sleep as well, they only come off when I take a shower.

    Reply
    • Hah, I’ve got three as well :). But I don’t wear them when sleeping or dancing, because that’s not’s really comfortable, or they could get dented or something… Imagine!

      Reply
      • Haha well my rings are almost part of my body… As I said, I only take them off when I shower, and I forget to do that sometimes as well!

      • Makes washing your hair harder though ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • Haha not really!! My rings are super flat ๐Ÿ˜€

  9. I’m kind of obsessed with having water at all times.

    Reply
  10. Dollface, add “s” to always in the title ๐Ÿ™‚ Otherwise… hmm…I take all of the above with me ๐Ÿ™‚ I sometimes substitute water with coconut water instead ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply
    • Oh no, it’s the kind of typo you just overlook everytime you watch it… Thanks to point it out!

      Hmm, coconut water sounds great ๐Ÿ˜€

      Reply
  11. Five things that never leave my pockets (or do so only when in use to then get put back in in my pocket): wallet, phone, chapstick, keys, and pocket knife. Eagle Scout – that knife has come in handy more times than I can count. Chapstick – grew up in the desert, so even though I don’t use it as much as I used to now that I live at the coast, I can’t imagine not having it. Keys, phone, wallet – self explanatory.

    Reply
    • You grew up in the desert? Wow, I didn’t know. That explains the chapstick indeed! I don’t know many guys who always carry it with them :). Shame, because chapped lips look so painful. (I have to blame myself as well for not having it with me…)

      I know someone who even carries little screwdrivers with her :D.

      Reply
      • When I wore glasses I always had a little repair kit tucked away somewhere. I was hard on the frames and the hinge screws were always threatening to fall out.

      • In that case that’s probably the best thing to do indeed! And you never know who you can help out as well :).

  12. I always carry my pawns around. I try to put them down, but they keep coming back. I think I went wrong when I brought them home from the hospital and fed them. They haven’t left since.

    Reply
    • Wait – what are pawns? ๐Ÿ™‚ (I’m not a native English speaker, so I have to rely on shitty translator sites that make me wonder how you feed these pawns, if they are really what they are translated to be…)

      Reply
      • Oh! Sorry that’s a very poor chess reference for my children. Pawns are small piece on a chess board. I usually refer to my children as pawns, because I like chess and… really it’s not as funny when I have to explain it. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Yeah, that’s the sad part of my little vocabulary! Jokes get ruined. But it’s pretty cute that you refer to your children as pawns :D. And in that case, I got the right translation and just missed the link… Sorry :).

      • No apologies necessary. ๐Ÿ™‚ If you view my page you’ll see the background picture is chess pieces and then maybe the link would have settled in. But I often spout things off and just assume people know me and my silly inside references, and they don’t and really that just makes all this my fault. But hey at least we got some good conversation out of the deal.

        Regardless. I love the writing. Thank you for the wonderful read.

      • That’s a beautiful background by the way, such a dramatic picture of the pawns (the real ones ๐Ÿ˜‰ ).

        Well, thank you for reading! I’m certainly keeping an eye on you :).

Leave a Reply

