Was this intended?

Today, I read the Daily Post post on blog names and decided that it was about time to explain why this thing is called No Blog Intended. Why would you say it’s not intended when actually it is? I have been worrying a little that people might think I’m not a ‘real’ blogger with regular updates since it was ‘not intended’. But when you start reading other blogs, they start reading you, and well, the problem solves itself. In fact I’m glad that I don’t have all too many readers. It makes it easier for me to know who’s reading. Though this is the Internet, I don’t want to be exposed to the whole world just like that.

But I’m going off topic.

So, why is this called No Blog Intended? Let me tell you a story.

I started blogging together with a friend a few years ago (two? three?). It started out as a joke, then became real and suddenly we were blogging. But after a while I felt like I wanted recognition for what I wrote. We shared one account, so no one could know which one of us wrote something or said something. And since I became addicted to blogging and spent quite some time on it, I just wanted people to know it was me saying certain things, writing things. Also, when having two different people, we could show two different views and yet no one would know it as written by two different people.
So I slowly started feeling limited.

And then I decided to move out, leaving our original blog to my friend and starting all over again, from the beginning, with everything I wrote. When you take such a decision, you just want to get it over and done with. In a few days I needed to fix the posts transport and come up with a new name. That was really hard. Since I don’t like to blog about one subject only, I needed something that didn’t limit the content. It couldn’t be ‘balletgirl’ or ‘shortstorygirl’ or ‘musiclover15’. It had to be something that wouldn’t make all of you think it was only about one subject. It had to be something that was easy to remember, that had nothing to do with my real name, that was just a general sign of me and my blog.

It was obviously too hard to come up with something good that wasn’t already taken. And then, my brother came with the idea of No Blog Intended, as a variation on no pun intended. I was getting really impatient and decided upon that name, adding ‘but the pun is’ as a subhead. That was that. I moved out, took all my posts with me and started from scratch again. From that moment on, things really changed. It seemed like I had more freedom to write, because I think no one I know in real life still reads this and that makes me more open in some way. I would never have the guts to share short stories with people I have to face everyday. NBI became more successful than the former blog (when I was still there) after a while. I never regretted going away. It gave me the right and possibility to say everything because it was only my opinion. That’s good.

Most of you know me now as NBI. I kind of think it doesn’t matter anymore what this blog’s name is. It’s only a little part of the entire thing it is: the posts, the video’s I share, the music and so on. And if certain people think it’s not a real blog, well, than that’s a pity, but it doesn’t matter that hard. I like it the way it is now, and I’m planning on keeping it exactly like like that.

How did you come up with your blog name?

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

32 Comments

  1. Twindaddy will need to answer to that. I’m only a contributor. The fact that you write about everything is awesome. One never knows what to expect.

    Reply
    • That’s what I aim for indeed!
      You could also explain where ‘jaded’ comes from? (Though it’s probably very clear for every native speaker or something.)

      Reply
  2. Ah, I remember the days of Random Female Blog!

    I know what you mean about having more freedom when you know that none of your friends are reading. None of my friends have read my books and I would be sort of embarrassed if they did.

    My blog name was easy!

    Reply
    • I too would be a bit embarrassed… After all it’s something you take very seriously and it is very personal – if someone would dislike it, it would hurt.

      Yeah, probably! Life can be so easy sometimes *sigh*.

      Reply
  3. NotAPunkRocker

     /  April 10, 2014

    Not a Punk Rocker was supposed to have the original tagline: “Because it sounds cooler than Dorky Mom Blog”.

    Since I write all over the place, it is just this for now, until/if I ever think of something better šŸ™‚

    Reply
    • The thing that made me go read your blog, was the mentioning of the punk rocker. I guess I kinda ignored the negation ;).
      It’s hard to find a real good blog name… So if I were you, I wouldn’t think too hard of another one, since this one is pretty cool already!

      Reply
  4. I’ve always liked the name of your blog, and the avatar you’ve been using for as long as I’ve known you.
    I wanted El Guapo for a blog name, but someone else had it.
    And hasn’t posted anything since 2006.
    Jerk.

    So Guapola is a big pile of El Guapo, I guess.
    Also, I was impatient and just wanted to be done with it too.

    Reply
    • It’s my real eye! Though of course in real life my skin is less grey. (The eye though could be equally as red, who knows…? šŸ˜‰ )

      It took me a trip to Spain and a dear friend to figure out what El Guapo actually means! Everyone still knows you like that though. An url is just an url after all… (And seriously, who even reads url’s.)

      Reply
  5. My blog name goes back into my history. I would have to explain things from high school to really explain it, and that’s just a lot of work. Now that I think of it, it would probably take a whole blog post to explain. I think I’ll do just that. Thanks for the idea.

    Reply
  6. I like the idea of your name! It’s catchy šŸ™‚
    I kinda had the same problem you had with picking a name.. There is not just ONE thing I do, or ONE thing I write about.. So it became All-roundgirl šŸ™‚

    Reply
    • Yay! It’s probably the hardest thing about blogging! But you really chose a good name to show that you’re blogging about more than one thing! Bravo šŸ˜‰

      Reply
  7. Addie

     /  April 11, 2014

    Excellent story! Mine was natural progression–Adair. I dare. Adair You. I Dare You to. Adair You to Give Your Opinion.

    See? Well, I thought it was clever, so, there you go!

    Reply
  8. A bet with my nieces! Both Ginger and angry about a large supermarket chain stocking Xmas cards derogatory towards redheads

    Reply
  9. I like your name. I think its very clever.

    Reply
  10. Love this, thank you for sharing. šŸ™‚ The idea behind my blog’s name was pretty much the same – what could I come up with that left no restrictions on my writing content? Ah – words. Words….and other things. That’s what my blog is. šŸ˜‰ I’ve been thinking of changing the name, now that my blog has started to go in a mores specific direction (it seems all I really write anymore is fiction or poetry related), but if I do, then I feel as though I’d be taking away that freedom to rant about something on any given day, if I so wish. I’m very torn!

    Reply
    • Thanks for reading ;).
      You rname is also a very free one indeed! If I were you I wouldn’t bother changing that much. The fact that it has ‘words’ in it makes it quite clear that it’s fiction and poetry above all. I mean, eveyone writes, so that would be too obvious unless it’s really some special words.

      As usually this is a vague explanation, but I suppose you understand it somehow :).

      Reply
  11. maurnas

     /  April 12, 2014

    I’m glad you struck out on your own. My blog name came from my love of making up words that sound real and how ridiculously profane I am. I didn’t want someone to read my blog and be shocked by all the cursing. So I was as up front as I could be about it.

    Reply
  12. Ah I’ve already blogged about it, but my blog name was something my attorney called me– based on the ridiculous accusations my asshat ex was making in court.

    PS I had your site open a couple days ago and The Boyfran was all “har har har that’s clever” over your title and tagline šŸ™‚

    Reply
  1. What’s in a Name | The Hungry Dog's Lair

Leave a Reply

