That’s Too Bag

As a woman, I don’t understand how men survive without bags. This might have something to do with the size of ladies’ wallets and pockets. I have a giant wallet and yet that is not because of all the money in it (unfortunately). Next to that I know own a smart phone – almost the smallest you can find, but still too big for the pockets in my jeans and other trousers.

Long story short: I carry bags with me wherever I go. And I’m okay with that. It means I can carry tissues with me, and lip balm, and sun glasses, when the sun shines. A bottle of water, some food, a book. A vest. You know – stuff. Wherever I go, I need stuff. And hence, a bag.

I like bags though. I like seeing beautiful bags in a shop, or hanging from my arm. Not that I own many, because a good bag is expensive, but still. I have one little black bag which my mother had bought when she was my age more or less. I’m still using it often – so very useful. Next to that I have a few other bags, but truth be told: they suffer. They suffer because I use them to stuff things in. The bag I used to take with me to class (and to cafes) has died. So recently I bought another bag to sill have one for school.

Say hello to my new love, the Cowboy Bag. It’s pretty giant, but that’s okay, since I will use it as hand luggage on planes too. You can stuff it, it all fits. It’s my new partner in crime when I go out for the day too. When buying this, I imagined myself traveling around with this bag, sitting in trains and airports and going to class with my bottle of water (1,5l).

Sometimes it feels likeΒ  a bag is more than a means of transport. Sometimes it feels as if it’s a partner in crime, a mate who accompanies you everywhere. A reliable one. So yes, I can kind of fall in love with them, and get all enthusiastic about the topic.

Do you like bags? Do you carry them around and love them? And if you’re a man: how do you manage without them?

Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. About the only time I use a bag is if I’m going to the gym.

    It’s why the Boy Scout motto was ‘be prepared’ – us men have to remind ourselves to be prepared, whereas you ladies do it automatically.

    Reply
    • That’s true! If anything ever happens, you probably will find a solution when you find a woman. I can solve most basic problems immediately πŸ™‚

      Reply
  2. I never considered myself a “bag” person – it was simply a means for carrying my wallet and keys – until one day, on a whim, I bought a bag in a kick-ass-look-at-me green. I’ve been obsessed with bags ever since – especially any bag that’s a statement colour or otherwise unusual in looks.
    Like you, my bags have become ‘partners’ that carry an assortment of essentials for any variety of adventures I may find myself getting into. One of my (adult) nieces one day called it my Mary Poppins bag because I always seemed to be able to pull out of it the “thing” we needed to handle the latest ‘crisis’ while we were away on a girls weekend.
    A great bag is the perfect travelling companion. I hope you and your new friend have many fantastic adventures ahead πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • Oww, that is badass! But yes, a good bag can really add something good and special to your look πŸ™‚

      Normally we’ll conquer Russia and Poland together! So let’s hope that will work out well!

      Reply
  3. NotAPunkRocker

     /  September 1, 2014

    I either carry none (wristlet for phone, cards and keys) or one with EVERYTHING possible. you never know what shade of lipstick you want to wear that day or what flavor of gum you want later, have to be prepared for every contingency! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  4. Twindaddy

     /  September 2, 2014

    My phone fits in my pocket and my credit cards fit in my wallet. I don’t really need to carry much else with me.

    Reply
  5. Guilty. I love bags, although I have never purchased one that was too expensive yet πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • I recently read an article on women and their designer bags, all of them saying that for a timeless and quality bad you always end up buying a designer bag.
      But I disagree. There are plenty of good bags out there for a good price! I once even managed to buy one for a third of its original price πŸ˜€

      Reply
  6. I like the awesome bag of your choice, A! πŸ™‚ I do like big ones for work – i.e. Longchamp throw-anywhere but for the evening I will always carry a clutch πŸ˜‰

    Reply
    • Yes, smaller bags are way easier for going out! I use this bag especially when I leave for an entire day, because then I certainly need some water and a book πŸ™‚

      Reply
  7. When ever I travel I use a bag to carry things I want to assure I “carry on” with me on my flights. Each time I think of how nice it is to have everything in one place and so easy to access. Seems like it is less “socially acceptable” here in the US, but never appears to be in airports of course (looking like a modern day briefcase or laptop bag). Interesting that you show a “cowboy bag” – here in Texas I haven’t seen many of those. It does look a little like the saddle bags that are attached to saddles for riding horses. Anything to make the daily routine simple seems like a good practical idea. πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • Look, sooner or later you too will go for the man bag! πŸ˜‰ It is useful. I am glad to be a woman just because of the social agreement that I am allowed to have a bag πŸ˜€
      I guess cowboy bags are only interesting for those who don’t live among ‘real’ cowboy stuff… And I don’t think it’s so cowboy-like in the end. It’s the brand’s name, I discovered a while ago. But it’s simple, functional and yet good-looking I think πŸ™‚

      Reply
  1. Ten Things Thankful’s Debut on NBI | No Blog Intended

Leave a Reply

