A case of laziness

(The title is a pun, but you have to read the post to understand.)

You may still remember that I bought a Thing (better known as a “smart phone“). The Thing and I needed some time to get used to each other, but I think we are finally getting along well enough. However, I’m not always the most caring person when it comes to valuable objects. I do try to keep them alive and well, but sometimes, I get a little careless… Sloppy… Slovenly… Or whatever adjective fits best.

So I decided to buy a phone case in order to keep the Thing’s screen pretty and scarless.

When you want to buy that in a shop, it costs so, so much. When you go searching on ebay though, it costs close to nothing. How is that possible? I have no idea. Either way, I bought myself a very cheap case, no shipping costs, perfect.

And then, it didn’t show up. I waited patiently for about two weeks, then I let my brother (who owns the account) send a mail to ask where my case was. In the meantime I had already decided to stay in Belgium, so if I would have left for Russia, it wouldn’t even have arrived in time.
We got a quick response about how something went wrong and they gave me a refund.

Fair enough. I needed to find another one to order, but because of a suddenly busy life, and a bit laziness, I never came to do it. Procrastination is the word, I think.

And then, after four or five weeks, my mother called. “Something arrived here, it looks a bit like a wallet, I think it’s that thing you ordered.”

What?

It just arrived. There was no great problem after all. Okay then!

My brother mailed again, but I don’t know if they got the point, because instead of accepting our money again, they said something about the refund and ‘check your account’. Oh well, we did pay it again, so hopefully they’ll just keep the money. So now I’m the owner of such a fancy wallet phone case, which protects my screen and makes me look just that little bit cooler (and up to date).

You see, sometimes laziness does pay off! I’m going to use this every time I need to defend that theory.

(And you see, Belgium is a country of great adventures…)

Leave a comment

17 Comments

  1. NotAPunkRocker

     /  October 21, 2014

    Oh, my boss was admiring a coworker’s wallety case, that we spent fifteen minutes looking them up during a recent meeting 🙂 Enjoy!

    Reply
  2. Yeah, shipping from the murky depths of Chinese slave factories isn’t the fastest method way of getting things done – maybe that’s why your application for Russia fell by the way side…

    I shed my iPhone cover and case recently. It’s very liberating.

    Reply
    • This must be the very first historical time that you make me feel bad about what I have done…

      It does feel as if everything is so safe – unless something happens to the case, that is.

      Reply
  3. Good things come to those who wait.

    (I thought you were going to say you dropped the phone and broke it cos you didn’t order another case.)

    Reply
    • Apparently 🙂

      Luckily I didn’t! It seems that someone tries to make up for staying here by doing these little things that light up my day 🙂

      Reply
  4. Congrats!

    (Not sure how this counts as adventure though… Did you jump off a bridge without your phone so it wouldn’t break? That would count!)

    Reply
    • I’m not sure if you got the sarcasm or not… But you see, this is one of the most exciting things I’ve been through the last weeks, so you know, it starts to count as an adventure almost…

      Reply
  5. Hahah awwh, that’s so nice of you to try to tell them you received the case after all,
    and hope they ‘keep the money’.
    A happy technology ending

    Reply
  6. Isn’t it the strangest thing … that you can go to a big store and pay 100 times more than you pay a little trader (who buys in much smaller quantities than the big guy) in his back bedroom. Makes no sense but then life makes no sense to me – which is how I prefer to keep it! 🙂

    Reply
  7. A very happy tech ending indeed – are you enjoying the “thing”? 🙂

    Reply
    • Well, we’re used to each other now and things are going well! Mayeb I should add ‘and they lived happily ever after’ 😉

      Reply
      • Haha – I think you should.:) Is Instagram and Twitter going to be next?

      • Hmmm, it’s very, very tempting, but at the same time I really want to succeed in life, and with all that distraction, I’m not sure if I can still focus on school 😉 (I’m terrible at focusing anyways…)

  1. The Thing and I : The Struggle is Real | No Blog Intended

Leave a Reply

