And then, everything disappeared

The hour, gone. A red cross where there used to be sign of connection. But connection was no more. There was silence.

Well, actually there was a noise. An alarm that started freaking out because electricity had disappeared. Let me ask you something: what’s the best way to discover who is currently at the student house? Answer: look who shows up when electricity is gone. There were five people here, but we couldn’t figure out how to solve the problem. Every solution that had worked before, failed to work now.

Let me ask you something else: what do you do when you don’t have electricity?

Answer: well… nothing. Because everything needs that. There is no Internet connection, you can’t charge the battery of your computer, phone or anything. You can’t put the heating on. The fridge doesn’t work anymore. You can’t cook, you can’t heat up anything, you can’t even boil water, unless you make a giant fire with some wood and a match.
Currently I have to use the Internet for almost all of my assignments, and if I don’t need it, I still need it for music. It’s getting dark earlier, so you want light. You want food. You want warmth. You want all these things that are no longer available when there is no electricity. It’s very confronting, how little there is left when you end up without it.

And you know, since we are having energy problems (don’t ask me to explain, because I’m no longer following the situation), they might have to turn off electricity for certain places in Belgium for a few hours every now and then. They’re scaring all of us with it, giving us tips like ‘don’t leave the light on in a room if no one’s there’. Oh well, good of you to remind me, I couldn’t have figured that out myself. How about the lights that always stay on in shops at night? How about that? Shouldn’t they shut it down?

So there is this threat of not having electricity for a few hours every now and then during the winter. (That’s when you need warmth.) Having experienced life without it today, I must say that it seems to be very, very boring and cold. Truth be told, we had this problem today at noon, so it was still light and warm, and I had to go to class, and when I returned, it was solved.

Still! Life without electricity is not something we can survive, I think. It’s become so necessary and so present that we sometimes forget that almost everything needs it. Every time this happens, I’m surprised at how powerless we are without.

But hey, candles do create a nice atmosphere, so I’m not freaking out.

Next Post
Leave a comment

21 Comments

  1. Eek! That’s no good. Everything depends on power these days.

    Reply
  2. NotAPunkRocker

     /  November 3, 2014

    I love how certain places are always exempt from conservation rules but “real” people have to pay. Here’s hoping it stays manageable, going out when you are in class and not in the dorm.

    Reply
    • Wait, sorry Sheena, but I’m not sure if I understand what you say…

      Reply
      • NotAPunkRocker

         /  November 3, 2014

        The businesses get to keep their lights on all night, but everyone else has to go without during the day.

        Same thing here with water; businesses are allowed to irrigate their flowers but citizens can’t use water for that. I get it to a degree, but it’s not like a drought is a secret, i’m not going to NOT go to the bank because their begonias are dying.

      • That’s even worse. Those who decide often seem to lack some common sense -_-

    • Owww of course, sorry, it’s evening and my brains are slowing down… Yeah, I hope so too… But I think they’re mainly scaring us for nothing really.

      Reply
  3. Blankets, pack of cards, dynamo torch and lots of cereal bars ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply
  4. It’s ‘cos the Russians are playing hardball again.

    Reply
  5. Takes one reminder to understand how valuable some things are, yet so simple. Electricity, clean water, a place to live, a method for transport. It triggers so much more when they are not there. Keep warm and be safe! Focus on the positives as best you can…

    Reply
    • As you say. We take it for granted until it’s no longer there.
      Oh, I’m actually doing pretty well these days, being positive I mean ๐Ÿ™‚ Things aren’t so mean anymore, so that’s great! Hope you are doing well too!

      Reply
  6. Enjoy the downtime!
    (As a note, electricity has been used by man for a tiny percentage of his existence.)
    ๐Ÿ˜€

    Reply
    • Yes – isn’t that a crazy thought? People used to live without it, but take it from us for ten minutes and we aren’t able to do anything. ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

      Reply
  7. They did the same to us in the UK in the late 70s when I was studying for my school finals – I still remember it. Stock up on candles and matches, get a camping stove, a kettle and a thin saucepan … Music is the worst bit – I think you can get clockwork radios but it’s not the same. The fact is we rely entirely on electricity and life without it Bluddy well sucks ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Reply
  8. Last winter we lost power for 3 days following an ice storm – in a city of a few million. We were lucky. Many were without power for much longer. It was a real eye-opener in how dependent we are on electricity – for more than just our entertainment.

    Now the powers-that-be are recommending that we should be self-reliant in an emergency for up to 1 week without electricity. That’s food, water, batteries, candles etc. That suddenly makes the reality of how “modernized” we are a lot scarier.

    Reply
    • Oh yes, this is a reality for you… That must be scary indeed! When I see how lost we were for the time we lost our electricity (well, that was also because of the alarm that wouldnt shut up), then I will keep my fingers extra crossed that you won’t have to deal with that!

      Reply
  9. I’d get those every now and again back in Lithuania. Answer: candle lit diner. I used to love being disconnected,

    Reply
    • Candle lit dinner, cosy! Well, it’s got something, but when you have to do all your assignments via the Internet, it’s not so much fun :/

      Reply

Leave a Reply

