Growing soft

By now everyone reading my blog probably figured out that I care a whole lot about my looks. I can find such happiness in shoes or bags or sweaters even, I never leave the house without mascara, or without earrings. That’s so typically me. It’s inherent. I want people to see the best part of me, the prettiest part. You just never know who’ll you run into after all.

Via 9gag.

Via 9gag.

But.

There’s a but.

When I share a house with you, you will get to see a different side of me. The side that doesn’t always wear earrings or mascara, the side that wears pyjamas. Shock! Horror! You see, sometimes I’m equally lazy and vain. When I get up in the morning and I need something from the fridge, well, I’ll just check to see if my face looks okay, but I’m not going to change my clothes. First things first. It’s as simple as that.
But it’s not just during the morning, when I’m too apathetic to care. When I know I will be home the entire day and I just have to study, I always put on something comfortable. After all I’m a dancer and I have troubles sitting in a normal way without moving, walking around, occasionally stretching and so on. You get the picture. I need my possibility to move in any direction, so I need clothes who can handle that urge for freedom.

And now my mother, who has the ability to buy the most amazing things for me, bought me pyjamas. But not just pyjamas. A most comfortable, cute pair of trousers, a T-shirt with a drawing of a cat, soft white things that are a cross between socks and slippers, and a fleece vest – fleece inside and out. It’s the softest thing ever, I swear. So I’ve kind of come to the point where I don’t want to change clothes anymore. I could live in that vest and be happy. Satisfaction is fleece. It’s like wearing a teddy bear.

So yeah, everyone sharing the house with me, ten other people who were strangers up until the point I moved in, gets to see me wearing pyjamas and a fleece vest. I might not look sexy, I might not look dazzling, but dammit, there is no reason to wear anything else when I’m at home. I will do the effort of picking a fitting T-shirt to go with it, but that’s the end. You will never ever see me wearing such things once I left home, but once there – it’s all comfy and soft.

What do you like to wear at home? Do you like fleece vests?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

21 Comments

  1. Comfy is king at home… serioulsy who cares? As for when I’m out and about, yea you never know who you will run into, but I really don’t care what other people think. comfy is still king but little more you know better looking… πŸ˜‰

    Reply
    • Absolutely – I want comfortable clothes all the time, but so to speak ‘outside’ only when they look good too.
      When I’m at home with my family, I don’t really care at all, but during the weeks I live in a house with other students I only know because we share this house. So they are practically strangers which I promoted to ‘kind of family’ so I don’t mind anymore πŸ˜‰

      Reply
  2. I wear old tracksuit bottoms and t-shirts indoors. It means if I get some egg or something on my hands, I can just wipe it off.

    I’d love to see you in your pyjamas though.

    Reply
  3. BEAUTYCALYPSE

     /  December 4, 2014

    That’s cute πŸ™‚ However, I’m usually wearing stretchy & comfy yet good/professional looking stuff so I don’t scare people on Skype video chat.
    I also love to wear really sparkly cocktail rings when writing, as it sends lights flying. Like my fingers are dancing across the keyboard and the rings are their disco balls. Yeah. So my idea of comfy are basically cocktail rings πŸ˜€

    Reply
    • Hahaha, that’s so fab πŸ˜€ Very cool, I cant totally imagine how awesome that must feel!

      Do you use the Skype video chat for your job?

      Reply
      • BEAUTYCALYPSE

         /  December 5, 2014

        @ rings: yup, that pretty much brightens a day πŸ™‚

        @ Skype: yes; I work from home, and video presence is my best motivation to look good πŸ™‚ which in turns makes me feel good.

      • I know what you feel – comfy at home is good, but when dressing up, I just feel better because I know I look good πŸ™‚

  4. NotAPunkRocker

     /  December 4, 2014

    Home: Workout (but not for working out) pants, t-shirts. In the winter, thermal shirt under the t-shirt.

    Outside, weekend: jeans, t-shirt/thermal combo if needed and/or hoodie

    Work: borrrrrrring

    Reply
  5. on those days that I know I am not planning on going out ( although that could change as the day progresses) I want to be comfortable. A number of sweatshirts (fleece) with my favorite sports team and musician names on them seem to suit me well. As was said, comfort begins at home, where ever home may be.

    Reply
    • Absolutely – even it there are non-family people at home. I consider this student house my home more than enough to think it’s okay. After all we share the kitchen and bathroom.
      Those T-shirts are perfect for such days indeed! And if plans suddenly get made, then you can still change for something ‘fresh’ πŸ™‚

      Reply
  6. I wear pajamas around the house, too. I’m all about the comfort.

    Reply
  7. Cow print fleecy pyjama borttoms and a tee or my penguin onsey lol I’m so classy!

    Reply
  8. Of course I wear ball gowns and high heels at home. I mean – I need everyone to think that.

    Reality is in winter I am always in a ONESIE. A nice, warm and cosy one.

    In summer though I am in a night dress/kaftan, so I sort of redeem my fashion blogging credentials.

    I looooove this confession of yours – and a very cool image πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • I imagine you doing the dishes in a glittery dress! That would make it a whole lot more exciting to do though πŸ™‚

      A onesie, so cosy! I don’t have one, but I’m pretty sure I would never change anymore when owning one!

      Reply
  9. I’m going to respectfully disagree and say there’s something very sexy about comfy and soft casual clothing. Perhaps not visually, but it’s a home run for texture. What do folks do when they come across fleece? They run their hands over it, enjoying the sensation. The fitting T is a nice touch. Please reconsider.

    Reply
    • You make a good point here! In a certain context, with the right people, I do feel quite pretty still in pyjamas. And as you say, they run their hands over fleece and stuff – it’s a different kind of sexy, but it’s got something.
      I above all meant to say that it’s not the kind of good-looking you aim for when going to class for example. But for me there is something very intimate in getting to see someone in pyjamas. As I said, different context, different atmosphere etc.

      Very long comment in an attempt to say you are very, very right πŸ˜‰

      Reply

Leave a Reply

