For good results, add violin

We have this saying here that there’s a fair going on in hell, when it’s raining and the sun in shining at the same time. Isn’t that a wonderful saying? A little while ago it was hailing over here, and yet the sun was shining. A strange sight. And then it started raining too…

But hey, no worries, I’m safe inside.

This intro has absolutely nothing to do with the point I want to make here, but it was too good not to mention. So now to the actual post, that has something to do with the title. You may know that I like violins and strings in general a whole lot. And though I like to say that I’ve got a slightly alternative music style, I have to confess that every once in a while I still have to give in to something popular.

Oh man. I hope you still like me when I confess that I kind of like Katy Perry’s song E.T. …

But the truth is, the song has an awesome rhythm to dance to! It’s so catchy! It’s not the best song ever and not highly poetic, but it makes me want to dance. On a sidenote, even Iron Maiden sometimes makes me want to dance. So okay, I kinda like that song, but there’s always room for improvement, and that’s where we throw in the violins…

There’s this Aston band, which covers well-known songs in a more classical way – with strings, a piano, a guitar and so on. They turn the song into something very good and it still makes me want to dance. A great bonus is that you can listen to this song without people disliking you for listening to Katy Perry. Yay!

 

Please note that I don’t care that much about what people think of my taste in music. I will never immediately say that I like ET by Katy Perry, but hey, I listen to whatever I want still πŸ™‚

Previous Post
Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. NotAPunkRocker

     /  December 11, 2014

    I can’t judge you on Katy Perry considering some of the music I have shared and songs that I know haven’t come up yet. I personally don’t like her, but that goes for most modern music now anyway (seriously, I’m turning old lady now).

    I do like remixes and reinterpretations though, so this wasn’t so bad after all πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • In general I’m very neutral about Katy Perry, but that ET song has this something, I don’t know, I can’t explain but I kinda like it πŸ™‚

      As you most modern music doens’t appeal that much to me. I’m always behind anyway, so when I ‘discover’ it, it’s already old πŸ˜‰

      Reply
  2. If it’s not ravey trance stuff, I don’t wanna know… although that song ain’t bad.

    Reply
  3. Well there is certainly a fairground going on in hell if the weather here is anything to go by … but wow! the rainbows … anyway just to say that I love this version (and old bat that I am I actually can confess to a weakness for for ET too … KP or not, I really like it) Keep bringing us classy stuff, classic, quirky – I enjoy your introductions greatly πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • The rainbows make it a little better often! But mostly we don’t have them though :/
      And thank you! I can never help myself from writing about whatever I like, so you will be finding way more here in time πŸ™‚

      Reply
  4. HEH! This post made me laugh and that is no small feat given the circumstances

    Reply
  5. I like that, will have to check them out some more over Christmas πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

