The Thing and I : The Struggle is Real

Previously on The Thing and I: our somewhat messed up beginning, our struggle to get used to each other, and the slow improvement in our relationship. Today’s episode: how I realise that some things just aren’t meant to be.

Shouldn’t I have known all along that this was a bad idea? How could I even make myself believe for a second that this was actually a good plan? And could I have escaped anyways? Because these days, when you want a new phone, you either buy such an ‘old school’ type with the 9 key keyboard and a small screen, or a smartphone. While I liked my last phone, I still bought a new one because the alarm clock didn’t work anymore. Thinking I’d be abroad since August, I needed a phone with a functioning alarm clock. And a smartphone seemed like a good choice.

Yes, I should have known better. Next to the troubles in the beginning, even with the case I bought for it, it’s also just a slow phone. Sometimes it takes ages to just load the start screen. But now the fun’s only getting bigger! My charger doesn’t work anymore. It won’t fully charge my phone. Either he discharges while still being connected, or he doesn’t go higher than 90 %. Which is asolutely bullshit for a thing that’s not even 6 months old. Next to carrying the charger with me, in a separate pocket, I have done nothing to it.

So today I returned to the store and explained the problem. They said they would return it to the company. When I asked how long it would take for the new, good one to arrive, they said it would take three to four weeks.

*Alarm bells ringing loudly*

In two weeks, I’m leaving for Poland. I told them I would be leaving in two weeks. They said someone else could pick it up for me. Okay, but how is that thing getting to me, darling? Do you think someone will travel to Poland just to bring me my charger? Do you think I will return almost immediately after leaving to pick up a stupid charger? And how am I supposed to charge my phone during those weeks? Oh, we don’t fucking care how you charge your phone, do we?

This wouldn’t have been such a big deal if I hadn’t been leaving for Poland soon. But of course that stupid thing has to die now, at this moment. Thank you very much, dear smartphone thing. I hope you can meet all your friends again in charger heaven, but seriously, aren’t you too young to die?

I’m not sure what I’m supposed to do now. The only option left is probably to buy a new one that fits every phone. Which means I will have to pay because something that shouldn’t break, broke. Which pushes my ‘this is unfair!’ button. It’s not like I couldn’t use that money for something else, especially now I’m almost leaving.

Some things aren’t meant to be. I should have known that you and I were doomed from the very beginning. I hope we will find a way to get along after all still, but honestly, I don’t think we’ll ever be real friends…

Leave a comment

27 Comments

  1. Oh dear. I’m rather apathetic to my own smartphone, having had it for three years now. I think I use it as a clock more than anything else…

    The charging issue may not actually be with the charger, it could be the battery or the connections. Use a cocktail stick to remove any dust that might be clogging the connection up.

    Reply
    • Yeah, I mainly use to call my parents and to text, but not even that often. And Whatsapp. That’s it…

      I tried a different charger, which is for the same phone, and there were no problems then. So it has to be the charger 😦

      Reply
  2. Yeah, but on the other hand, you’re going to Poland!!!

    Reply
  3. Yikes. I’m sorry to hear all that. I’ve owned a few different smart phones and haven’t had a problem with any of them.

    Reply
  4. I think the issue is that a company thinks its OK to take 3-4 weeks to solve a problem on a phone which these days is a vital accessory to life. What were you supposed to do in the meantime … shout loudly and hope the right person heard you? Really – where is the customer service with the emphasis on the customer. But you ARE going to Poland!!!! πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • Yeah well, they may suppose that you use your old phone meanwhile, but I bought a new one for a reason… It’s bad luck :/
      But yes, that’s the bright side πŸ™‚

      Reply
      • Mrs Angry here in France does not think that is a suitable excuse (I’m in blatant rhinocerous mood today!) and they should not assume you even still have an old phone. Hope it resolves anyway and Poland is getting closer ….. πŸ˜€

      • Haha, I wish you were here to go talk to them… But I’m afraid that it won’t change a thing. I’m not happywith it either, but I didn’t want to yell at the person working there because there’s a big chance that they can’t help it either… Though it might have been a relief!

      • Good attitude πŸ™‚

      • Thank you! It may also be an excuse to be a coward though too, haha πŸ˜€

      • for coward substitute diplomat … it feels better πŸ˜‰

      • Yeah, I can live with that πŸ˜€

  5. NotAPunkRocker

     /  January 26, 2015

    Wowsa. I just had to buy M a new phone for the first time in three years, he was stubborn about holding on to his “old” smartphone, but his battery isn’t cut for the power going in and out of service puts on it. I am hoping the one I just ordered, delivery tomorrow, will be just as OK for just as long. Or until he can afford to replace it himself.

    Yay Poland!

    Reply
  6. Hmmm, smartphone batteries are really bad, tbh. How about another phone?
    Edita
    http://www.pret-a-reporter.co.uk/

    Reply
    • But this one is not even six months old… And well, normally it’s only the charger that gave up. Besides, it was one of the cheapest phones, but still I don’t really want to spend money on a new one already…

      Reply
  7. Is this one of those models that have a USB/mini USB port, because you might just be able to plus it into the PC and charge it that way, as mine does…

    Reply
    • I think it is, yes. But since the charger is gone for repair (or change) now, I can’t try. I’m going for a travel charger this afternoon though, hoping that that will be good…

      Reply
  8. I think to be honest if you’re having problems with the phone they should have changed the whole lot for you. There seem to be a few issues around with charging phones, and mine used to discharge itself as well, but then they updated the software and touch wood it has been fine since.

    Reply
    • But if they would have changed it all, then I wouldn’t have the phone when leaving for Poland, so I wouldn’t have done that either way… But now I bought a new charger and it works! Knock on wood (I do that too! πŸ˜€ )

      Reply
      • Here, most of the time, if there is a problem with something they exchange it there and then, no waiting. But as long as its working, that’s a good sign πŸ™‚

      • So much better… Three to four weeks is quite long, considering the fact that they do so much effort to make you rely on your phone.

  1. Somewhat Irrational Fears | No Blog Intended

Leave a Reply

