Home and away

Studying abroad is some busy business, let me tell you that. Since my last post I have been busy visiting cities, making tests, and being ill. The travels were really good, it’s always nice to visit places that are very different from your own city. I’ve been to the sea-side at Easter Break, and in ŁódΕΊ. That last one has so many nice restaurants and cafes, it’s really a young city, as we say! Also, we went to a Balkan party there, and god, what a party…! It’s been a while since I’ve had such a lovely party. They really played Balkan music, all night long, and everyone was dancing, and it was so nice. I had the greatest time, so great that I had muscle ache the next day because of dancing so much. But it was worth it! Just perfect.

The only downside to the travels was that it was often quite cold… Together with the busy week of an exam and three tests and tiredness, it caused me to pay the price – I fell ill. The last time this happened, I was 15, so I didn’t really expect it anymore! Yesterday I almost didn’t leave my bed, because I couldn’t stay upright, or even sit up, for longer than 5 minutes without falling down again. Such joy… But today things are already way better, luckily. I don’t have my voice back completely, but hey, at least I can walk around again!

Also, if that is the price I have to pay for that Balkan party, than I’m willing to pay.

Next to that it gives you a new look on your priorities. Now I’m so happy that I can look down without my head aching, I’m happy that I can walk around without falling, and that I don’t feel knives in my head the entire time anymore. Life is so pretty now!

As for the guy from this post, well, it seems that I’m getting good at cleaning the mess I’ve made. Of course the situation is somewhat more complicated than I told you, but last week I decided that the best way to get an answer is to ask for it. So I sent him a text asking why I didn’t hear anything from him anymore. (Then I shut down my phone in a flash of nervosity. Then I realised how stupid it was, turned it back on and put it in the kitchen so I wouldn’t hear the sound of a text message coming in.) He gave some lame excuse about thinking I was home for the holidays (I wasn’t of course) and something about being drunk. I didn’t fully get it, so I asked what he meant by that. Maybe that sounded a bit aggressive, because he texted back that we will meet some day and then he would explain it.

Eh, okay. I’m not convinced this will actually happen, for some reason (guess which one). At least I tried, I have proven to be the more adult one by trying to have a normal, rational conversation. If he had told me straight away what the real reason was, even if it would have been that he wasn’t really interested in me, then I would just have understood it. But oh well, I can’t be bothered with it anymore. I might be heading towards more adventures, so this one is ready to be the past.

As for the ‘I thought you’d be home during the holidays’, I must say there’s a strange tendency to think that here! No one asked me what I was doing during Easter break. They always asked if I was going home during Easter break. Errm no, I have only been here for two and a half months now, why would I go home already? I didn’t go studying abroad just to run home as soon as I have the chance. I surely miss some people and some things about Belgium, but despite that I feel like this is my home now. This is my town. I noticed how true that was when I was walking around in the cities I visited. I started saying things like ‘in my city it’s like this or that’, or ‘oh, we have the same thing over at us!’. Next week , my parents will visit me, and I already look forward to showing them around here, because I’m proud of my city, I think it’s pretty and full of good things. We have a lovely old town and a lovely big park right in the centre of the city. It’s just a good place to live, and I can’t wait to show them around in my new world here. This is my home. I feel it every time I arrive at the train station again. This is what I know best and this is what returning home feels like. I will surely be happy to be back in Belgium and to see my friends again and to go to a real good Belgian cafe again, but until then you can leave me here!

Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. Welcome back, NBI!

    You should just forget about that dude from before. All that’s likely to happen is a lot of time and effort spent chasing after him, only for things to go bad.

    Reply
    • Oh, chasing is not my style. The only effort I’m willing to do is trying to figure out what’s going on, but that’s definitely it.

      Reply
  2. Glad you are a little better but sorry you got sick. Very glad to hear about the Balkan party and not a little jealous of that one! The guy will find his place on a backshelf in your memory in time … I too have to understand the why before I can move on so totally understand your condition there. But most of all – enjoy your parents visit, enjoy showing off your city, enjoy being home πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • It is a bit unfortunate, but we’ll get through it – it will take some more days of coughing and sneezing, but it makes you happy again when you can breathe through your nose suddenly! πŸ˜‰
      Oh, I do, I do! I plan on walking around in the park tomorrow. It will do me well πŸ˜€

      Reply
  3. NotAPunkRocker

     /  April 22, 2015

    Here’s to new adventures and getting healthy to enjoy them πŸ™‚

    Reply
  4. If it makes you feel better, wherever you go in the world, there will be at least a few (lots of) stupid guys.

    But you’re turning a whole other country int your home! That’s fantastic!

    Reply
    • The point is just that I should start recognising them! But at least I’m getting enough experience to some day pick them out of the crowd πŸ˜‰

      I know! I like it πŸ˜€

      Reply
  5. Welcome back lovely lady!
    I am so glad you are enjoying Pl πŸ˜‰ Lodz is awesome… and that Balkan party sounds like SO MUCH FUN!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

