The Eyes of Men

One more time: this week, we celebrate the fact that high school is almost over for us. We do that by dressing up during this week (although they warned us that we were only allowed to dress up on Friday – sure). Somehow, dressing up isn’t really flattering, but it’s funny all the way. The thing is, you cannot dress up without showing a lot of your legs (in nylons, though, it seems. I have been wearing three different outfits and not one included pants. Emancipation doesn’t make it to dressing up clothes. That means that men stare.
Stare without any kind of shame. They just look at you, even bow a little to have a better sight on your legs. I’m serious. Even teachers have been staring at us (and laughing – mixed feelings if they start to laugh). But not only them, females and children stare too when you’re all covered in green for example. Mostly they look at you and you can see them thinking ‘What the hell?’.
Yes, we are dressed up, okay?
Imagine it being summer. Girls wear skirts, without thights, and look! Men are staring! Sometimes even winking! When you have to cross a busy road, a skirt might just help. And yes, we don’t wear skirts without wanting people to see our legs… But do it subtly, okay? Don’t stare too much, don’t wink, and above all don’t make remarks. Escpecially when you’re not young yourself anymore. (And somehow, this is always the case). It’s not because you passed the terrible age of 30 that you have to be blind for younger girls… It just looks way more perv when you aren’t. At least be so polite to look us in the eye after staring at our legs. You can even move your head slightly as in ‘Goodmorning’ or ‘Hello’. But that’s the border. Come no further! And don’t stare while laughing. It’s not good for self confidence. And just offensive.

But after some thinking about this, I realised that NOT staring might just be even more offensive. Small sidenote.

An attempt to kick with two feet at a time for asking such an offensive thing.

*such humour… ;)*

Leave a comment

17 Comments

  1. I remember short skirts. I still wonder how we did anything that required bending? You had to wear tights, unless you had on a summer dress and sandals. You rock those skirts and tights and smile the secret smile of a woman while they stare at you, and you don’t stare back.

    Enjoy the week!!! ❤

    Reply
    • Bending and biking both need shorts :). Ah, the secret smile of a woman, you are right Addie. Somehow, the attention is flattering after all!

      Reply
  2. I am 32 and will unashamedly stare at any and all slender legs that are on display.

    Young ‘uns stare at my nostril hairs without hiding their disgust so during the summer I get to gawp at the ladiez on show.

    Yes, I am a perv.

    Reply
    • Nostril hairs? Is that why you don’t dare to use a picture of yourself as an avatar? 😉
      That was mean. I have to apologize.
      Do you stare subtly and friendly, with respect for the owner of the legs? In that case I can forgive you. (Forgiveness is also easier when you are handsome and muscled. Makes you less perv)

      Reply
      • No need to apologise I have had far more insulting things said to me.

        I probably don’t do it particularly subtly to be honest. Most of the time I am never going to see them again so I don’t see the point.

        The fact I have a shaved head probably makes them feel even more uncomfortable.

  3. If they are staring at your legs, then obviously you are wearing a modest top.

    Enjoy the end of school!

    Reply
    • 🙂
      I usually don’t really wear ‘deep’ tops, but I like some subtle see-through… Maybe a bit too subtle for men, but hey, I still have my legs in that case.
      Thanks!

      Reply
  4. This conversation makes me want to put on a burka. I once caught my university algebra teacher staring at my legs. It was really icky and awkward since he was like 80 years old. But then I figured, what the heck, my grades were terrible and this could only help? haha! What a hussy!

    Reply
  5. I’m with Mr. Cargill, nose hair statement and all.

    I don’t see anything wrong with looking. It’s staring that I get why girls freak out. Enjoy the attention though. It won’t be around forever. Someday you’ll be old and fat or old and wrinkly. You’ll be begging the eyes of men to give you a nice reminder of how awesome you are.

    Reply
    • You are right, one day I’ll beg for them to watch my legs, but until then I consider it okay to complain about the attention ;). That’s why added that last sentence after having published the post. Not staring might even be worse, so okay, just do it.

      Reply
  6. Ugh I was going to write a post on something like this! It’s hard to be a girl and want to look pretty, but at the same time, you don’t want attention from creepy men. So gross!

    Reply
  7. no no no no no no….staring is annoying and not okay. If a dude likes the way a girl looks, then he needs to respect her and realize she’s not a piece of meat and then take her out for a nice meal or something.

    We ladies just wanna live.

    Reply
    • That is true. But I think that they are not really aware of the staring. They don’t think about it, they just do it. Somehow it’s a form of appreciation. But of course, respect is a slighty better form of appreciation!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

