Caught

There was something in the way he looked at me. He had very blue eyes, which caught my attention straight away when we first met. He seemed such a nice and sympathetic young guy. He did something with music. He had a vivid way of laughing. He was a good stranger to meet, a good acquaintance to have. But we stayed in our worlds, like we were supposed to do.

In a year and a half , we would meet three times. We had a common friend, J, who sometimes invited both of us at the same time. Then our worlds would overlay for a little while. I liked the fact that he would be there, since I had seen him more often than the other friends of J. It would still stay to that, and we would still stay in our worlds. There was a fine line though. A fine web. Nearly impossible to see, barely something you could feel.

The third time we both met up with J, I noticed that there was something in the way he looked at me. Just a second too long, just a little too strong. With those very blue eyes of him he could almost pierce through you. As ever I was happy to see him again among these other people I knew less well. I did enjoy talking to him. I did enjoy hearing him laugh since he had such a vibrant way of laughing. We talked and talked.

Slowly, I spread my wings.

As always, leaving a place where you want to be is hard. It took me about an hour to go from the promise of leaving to actually deciding to do it.

“I have to leave now, for real. I have classes tomorrow… And I need my sleep.”

He then kissed me. I hadn’t seen that coming – at least, not until he put his arm around me just a short while before that. I wrapped my wings around him. Could we stay there forever? In that peaceful zone in between? No, of course not. There has to be a continuation. Something has to happen.

“Shall I go home with you?”

“I don’t think it’s a good idea.”

I could feel something sticking on me, enfolding my wings and myself. There was this look in his eyes. I broke my own promise and my own defense. Right there, on the corner of that street, the guilt crept upon me and clawed in my skin, tore at my ribs, aiming at what was underneath.

There was something in the way he kissed me. I kicked at the guilt as if it was a foul beast trying to kill me. It is okay. It is safe. The beast threw a white sheet at me, but I closed my eyes and turned away. I know it is okay. I trust.

I jumped to fly and flew right into the web he had woven.

And there, there I was left to die.

 

Written for this challenge. As soon I read it, I knew this would happen.

 

?????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

Leave a comment

28 Comments

  1. Beautiful story. It swept me in from the very beginning and now all I want is more. What happened with this man? It turned so dark at the end, why? I’m going to sit over here and sulk while I wait for part two bwahahahahaha. Fabulous though, and thank you for joining in!

    Reply
  2. Wonderful story! We both just gave a portion of a story in our posts!! And chose the same line!

    Reply
  3. Ohhhh it was all going so well up until the end where you got left to die! I love the kind of metaphor of the (?)spider and the fly…

    Reply
    • Yay, you got the metaphor, haha 😀 Glad to see that.
      It felt exactly like I wrote it. All was good and fine and then, suddenly, things turned around.
      And in fact, I’m still trying to fight myself out of the web.

      Reply
      • ACK! In that case…is there more to come? A series? Dangggggg! I want to know what happened next, and that you’re okay.

      • In fact I have written some posts about him already – but it’s not always clear that it’s about him. I’m planning on writing a post to tell the story from the beginning to the end now, including links to those earlier posts…
        I can make some chaos, you know, I plan to clean it up a little 😉
        I am okay, thanks for your concern, it just hurt me so badly that I need time to recover. But I’ll be fine 🙂

      • Glad you’ll be okay. That sucks that you got hurt so much 😦 This was really nicely written though. You’re kind to him. YES to making an overarching post.

      • Kind to him? Hahaha – well, I’ve had my revenge after all… (at least in fiction world) :
        https://noblogintended.wordpress.com/2014/05/10/the-sweetest/

      • Oho! *follows link*

  4. That was rather good!

    Reply
  5. Oh I like that…a lot! You have a beautiful way of weaving a web yourself that draws us in 🙂 great writing!

    Reply
  6. Fantastically descriptive, I really enjoyed that.

    Reply
  7. Stunningly written. A web that kills is the one we weave ourselves and it does kill us daily, little by little…. Or after an unforgettable kiss on a street corner? 🙂
    Love it, A!

    Reply
    • Thank you! Well, I’m still a little stuck in the web, but that’s also because I can’t let it go completely. So yes, the web that kills is the one we weave ourselves… But kisses on the corner of a street don’t help 😉

      Reply
  8. Oh, my lord. You had ME caught in YOUR web, girl. All of your metaphors were beautiful, but the use of wings…that had me swooning right along with you. My eyebrows jumped up when he kissed you, and my jaw dropped at the final two sentences. Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful. And tragic.

    I’ll hate him and plot revenge right along with you.

    Reply
    • Can I frame this comment?
      Thank you so much, you are making my day! Unfortunately it felt and feels exactly the way I described it (I’ve never found better words for it). Good to know that you hate him too! If one day I’ll get my revenge, I’ll certainly let you know! 😉

      Reply
  1. A story of boy meets girl… and hurts her badly | No Blog Intended

Leave a Reply

